Travelling on the Vale of Rheidol Railway is the finest way to see the stunning Rheidol Valley as you journey through wide open fields, woodland and rugged mountain scenery.
The line is a masterpiece of engineering, opened in 1902 to carry lead ore, timber and passenger traffic. The narrow gauge steam locomotive climbs 700ft (200m) in the 11 ¾ miles from Aberystwyth to Devil’s Bridge, the line twisting and turning as it clings to the hillside.
Ownership of the line passed to British Railways in 1948, and it survived through threats of closure to become the last steam railway owned by British Rail until privatised in 1989.
The railway is now owned by a charitable trust, which set about renovating and improving the locomotives, carriages and track and opening up some of the views not seen for decades.
The locomotives and carriages currently in use were built for the line by the Great Western Railway between 1923 and 1938.
Sorry, we don't have an Email address for this attraction.