Reviews marked 'Feedback' were left by guests via the West Wales Holiday Cottages feedback form and then submitted by the owner. Any other comments were sent in by the owner from the property's visitor book.

“This was our second time at Troedyrhiw and once again we had a fabulous time. The cottage is cosy and comfortable and in a fantastic location for walking off the doorstep or exploring the wider Ceredigion area. This was our first visit to a holiday cottage durinig Covid-19 and the arrangements are well managed. We love the peace and tranquility of Troedyrhiw and have already re-booked for 2021. Thank you to Rob and Delyth, look forward to seeing you next year.”

Feedback - Sep 2020

“Property was much bigger than we expected which was a treat. The area is very dog friendly which made for a relaxing weekend.”

Feedback - Oct 2019

“Lovely , well equipped cottage far away from the normal pace of life ...ideal for dogs .”

Feedback - Sep 2019

“We really enjoyed the peacefulness, the silence was deafening, such a relaxing week, didn't want to leave. Lots of wildlife in the area, bats and owls at night and kites in the day, and the best was the dark skies, hundreds of stars to see and the milky way. Loved the place.”

Feedback - Sep 2019

“A clean and cosy cottage in a secluded location with only sheep and cows for neighbours and only a short drive away is the local friendly shop. Plenty of walks straight from the door with fantastic scenery and on clear nights the most amazing star lit sky. If you want peace and solitude this is the place. The cottage is also conveniently located to visit Elan Valley, the Hafod estate, Devils Bridge and the Ceredigion coast. Thank you Delyth and Rob – see you next year for our second visit.”

Feedback - Sep 2019

“The cottage was exactly as advertised, the location is perfect for access to the Cambrian Mountains, lovely walks upto the Teifi Pools.
Rode the steam train from Devils Bridge to Aberystwyth with great views. Dogs and family loved the break. Delyth and husband were readily available to resolve a minor inconvenience responding quickly and keeping us informed. Overall an excellent quiet break away from it all.”

Feedback - Sep 2019

“Pure solitude. The owner recommended some great walks for our last day there which we really enjoyed.
Mid west Wales is like Britain was in the 1950s. Unspoilt, clean and polite. The seaside towns are a delight.”

Feedback - Aug 2019

“Fantastic cottage in a fantastic location, the owners Rob and Delyth are very friendly and helpful. Really enjoyed the whole 2 weeks, even the dog didn’t want to come home !”

Feedback - Jul 2019

“My partner and I spent a fantastic week at Troedyrhiw. It's a lovely house - cosy yet spacious; it combines the charm of an old, stone-built cottage (inglenook fireplace with woodburner, beams, sash windows) with modern-day comforts. The large patio is perfectly situated to catch the sun all day and evening and has a splendid view looking west down the valley; the sunsets were spectacular. There are lovely views from inside the house, too - including from the double bedrooms. The main bedroom is huge and the bed comfortable. Although it's an easy drive from Pontrhydfendigaid with its excellent local shop, the house is peacefully located with no near neighbours - just sheep, birdsong and the rushing of the brook down the hillside. Nearby there are plenty of drives with beautiful scenery and walking trails. Don't miss the circular walk from the house to the Teifi Pools; it takes you through several different landscapes and will stay in the memory. We also enjoyed several trips to Aberystwyth, half an hour’s drive away, with its colourful houses, interesting shops and some great pubs and restaurants. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.”

Isabel, April 2019

“A peaceful get away from it all homely secluded cottage, warm and cosy with a rustic feel. Stunning panoramic views left right and centre. Walks from the door into unspoilt countryside and just 30 minutes from great beach walks. Plus an unlimited supply of wood for the log burner and a huge enclosed space for my dog to enjoy and run free without disturbing sheep in the neighbouring fields. The cottage sits proudly on the hillside at the end of a beautifully long winding lane, remote but not isolated. Im not an avid birdwatcher but found myself transfixed by Red Kites soaring across the valley, who knew! But this is the charm of Troedyrhiw, the space to relax and really experience the peace and quiet. After a call to check all was OK, Delyth was on hand if needed but left me to enjoy the tranquillity without interruption. Its very rare for a cottage to live up to the advert, in my opinion Troedyrhiw is the exception that proves the rule and I certainly will be returning.”

Jan, December 2018

“Lovely relaxing cottage and surroundings- everything we needed was supplied. Perfect if you want to get away from everything and everyone which we did.”

Feedback - Nov 2018

“We had a fantastic stay over half term and had our 15 year olds birthday celebrations there. It was a beautiful remote farmhouse with stunning views in all directions. The sun shone and we explored the area directly from the house. The dog loved the fireplace as much as we did and it was a very warm and cosy place to stay in of an evening. Thank you to the wonderful helpful hosts too.”

Feedback - Oct 2018

“Excellent hospitality and good communication lines. We had troubles with the road to the cottage that had flooded, but were helped by the owner to get our luggage and ourselves to the cottage. They even drove us up and down to Tregaron to buy some groceries.”

Feedback - Oct 2018

“This was our third visit here,every visit things have been just right,the great standards have been consistent..This cottage is so well equipped that we haven't found anything we needed that it didn't have.It is in a secluded position yet is an ideal base to explore from,also with walks from the door this is an added bonus.We will be back many more times for sure.Thanks for our stay again Mike & Sue Hughes”

Feedback - Sep 2018

“The cottage is extremely well appointed and comfortable. Its position is as advertised secluded and in a great setting with beautiful views. Plenty of opportunities to walk and even though we hit a very wet few days we still got out to explore and took advantage of the tumble drier on our return. If your looking for quiet and relaxing this is the place - we will return.”

Feedback - Sep 2018

“Had an amazing time with just cows sheep and the very occasional rambler walking by .
The cottage was clean comfortable and well equipped.”

Feedback - Aug 2018

“We love staying at this cottage, it was our fifth time. The scenery is fantastic, peaceful location, comfortable cottage,so much to enjoy in local area we hope to return again.”

Feedback - Jul 2018

“Very peaceful beautiful location.”

Feedback - Jul 2018

“Wonderful peaceful setting with great views.
Everything you could need including the b-b-q”

Feedback - Jun 2018

“We really enjoyed our stay at Troedyrhiw. The rural location was perfect for walking and bird-spotting although we were only about a half hour drive from the nearest beach which was good for sunny days - of which we were lucky and had quite a few. The cottage was ideal for our family of four, with a well-equipped kitchen, and (most importantly for the teenager!) wifi. The owners were friendly and helpful - even drying the clothes we left in the washing machine and posting them back to us! There was lots to do and see in Ceredigion, the peaceful holiday was a perfect break from where we live in the centre of a city.”

Feedback - May 2018

“Our forth time at Troedyrhiw!... It has such a great atmosphere and ambience, that we keep coming back for more.. The stunning scenery and peace and quiet away from the bustle lend itself to make the perfect retreat.”

Feedback - Nov 2017

“This was our second stay at Troedyrhiw and love its tranquility - isolated but not remote - with only sheep for company. The house is well equipped, warm and cosy and the nearest pub is only a couple of miles away. You can walk on to the hills right from the door so no need to keep using the car. No doubt we'll be back for further R&R!”

Feedback - Nov 2017

“Lovely property/ enjoyed our holiday very much/beautiful scenery/very peaceful/pure escapism from the reality of life”

Feedback - Oct 2017

“Beautiful location and cottage. Amazing place. I will come back for sure..”

Feedback - Sep 2017

“Beautiful cottage, would highly recommend for peaceful and relaxing away from it all holiday. Owners very helpful if needed but don't intrude at all. All comforts catered for.”

Feedback - Sep 2017

“Great cottage in a wonderful location. The owners were really supportive when there was a small problem. Fantastic cottage with lovely owners.”

Feedback - Aug 2017

“Had a fantastic time we enjoyed our stay, a fantastic getaway. ”

Feedback - Aug 2017

“Fantastic cottage in a fantastic setting. This was our fourth vist to the cottage and we still have so much to do in the area. We hope that we are able to return next year.”

Feedback - Jul 2017

“It was brilliant.”

Feedback - Jul 2017

“Lovely, quiet, remote cottage. Ideal for a "get away from it all" holiday. Cottage comfortable with all that you need. Owners friendly and available if needed. We normally don't revisit holiday cottages but this is the 2nd time we have stayed here and very well may come back again.”

Feedback - Jun 2017

“We had a lovely weekend stay at the Cottage, it is beautifully situated and really is away from everything, so perfect for a relaxing stay. Whilst there we were lucky to meet the owners who proved to be charming and very helpful.”

Feedback - May 2017

“My wife and I stayed in Troedyrhiw at the end of April 2017 and loved its isolation and remoteness - no traffic noise, no neighbours, no hassle, just the gentle sounds of birds and sheep, yet the village and its shop and pubs were only a few minutes drive away. Being able to walk out onto the hills into unspoilt countryside straight from the door was a real bonus and we had three fantastic walks where we didn't see anybody all day. Bliss! There's also a superb view from the terrace looking down the valley so you can enjoy a drink after a day's walking.
The cottage itself is very spacious with a huge living room and main bedroom with high ceilings so there is none of that hemmed in feeling you can get with some cottages. Efficient central heating meant we kept warm and the woodburner provided a cheery focus. The cottage was well equipped and clean and the welcome pack of Welsh cakes and wine was much appreciated.
Would thoroughly recommend Troedyrhiw if a get-away-from-it-all holiday is what you're looking for.”

Feedback - Apr 2017

“Great location for a restful holiday. Enjoy what nature offers you buzzards,kites. Beautiful walks form the property aided by useful literature left for use in the cottage. Would certainly recommend it.”

Feedback - Sep 2016

“Perfect for a relaxing break away from all the hustle and bustle of the pressures of modern life a real get away from it all holiday.
Many Thanks
Ken,Vicki and Tracey Moseley”

Feedback - Sep 2016

“Absolutely love the cottage and it's location. The weather was a little wet but this just enhances the beauty of the waterfalls, reservoirs and dams. All of the local people we met were friendly and informative. We have stayed three times now and still have so much more countryside to explore.”

Feedback - Jul 2016

“A very comfortable cottage in a wonderful remote quiet location with great views. Lots of walking/cycling available directly from the cottage. We had a thoroughly relaxing holiday.”

Feedback - Jun 2016

“This cottage, with its sweeping views, isolation, lovely working fireplace, ample kitchen, and beautiful terrace is probably my favorite of several cottages where we have stayed. I certainly hope I can return sometime. The walking trail right by the gate is a real plus. The antics of the sheep and lambs in the adjoining pasture were better than TV!”

Feedback - May 2016

“Troedyrhiw is the perfect get away from it all cottage. It has a homely rustic feel to it with a panoramic view over the valley. So peaceful.
You find yourself unwinding from the stresses of home life instantly. The little stream running down by the side is magical and the wildlife all around is fascinating... House martins chattering as they flit about. Red kite soaring in graceful sweeps over the valley and the ever entertaining sheep doing what sheep do!
The log burner is very efficient and it is a nice touch that there is an unlimited supply of wood provided (most places give you one basket to start you off & then you have to buy more yourselves)
There is nothing like enjoying a glass of wine on a clear and balmy night stargazing with the sound of the stream and soft bleat of the sheep in the surrounding fields to finish a days adventuring....
The owners Delyth and Rob are very friendly and accommodating, they seem to have the perfect balance of being there if you need something but also leaving you alone to enjoy the tranquility without interruption.”

Feedback - Oct 2015

“Perfect cottage,location and owners.This cottage is very clean,well equipped and very,very comfortable.this is the sort of place you want to return to again and again!!”

Feedback - Sep 2015

“Stunning location. Bbeautiful, cozy cottage. Perfect for peace and quiet. All four of us (ages from 6 to 45) loved our week at Troedyrhiw. We hope to return!”

Feedback - Aug 2015

“The cottage is wonderfully peaceful - a real 'get away from it all' feel - surrounded by the mountains but not far from the coast. Perfect for relaxation.”

Feedback - Apr 2015

“Perfect cottage for a peaceful break for those who like to get away from it all. Just what we were looking for.”

Feedback - Sep 2014

“Peaceful cottage in isolated location. Wonderful walks from the property.”

Feedback - Aug 2014

“Food excellent in both Black & Red Lions”

Feedback - Oct 2013

“This is the 3rd time we have stayed at this cottage and it always lives up to our expectations. A great place for a family holiday and peace and quiet.”

Feedback - Jul 2013

“If Carlsberg made cottages they would certainly have made Troedyrhiw. This is what you call a cottage holiday at it's best. All you could wish for in a holiday under one roof and in it's surrounding grounds. The Cottage contains everything you need for a comfortable stay, such things as cooker, washing machine, freezer, log fire, whatever you have in your own home is available. Last note on the owners, wonderfull helpful people, they can not do enough to assist in any way they can to make sure your holiday is a success. To Rob and Delyth I think you and look forward to our family holiday which will certainly be at Troedyrhiw. If you yourself are looking to book a holiday, you will not go wrong at Troedyrhiw.”

Rhydian, Ammanford. 18 August 2012