Reviews marked 'Feedback' were left by guests via the West Wales Holiday Cottages feedback form and then submitted by the owner. Any other comments were sent in by the owner from the property's visitor book.

“second stay at the barn just fab love it everything needed for a great holiday provided even fresh milk ,bread ,eggs and cakes on arrival spotless clean well laid out comfy beds great hosts ,beach 5 minutes away ,pub in walking distance with great food and little shop .Will be booking again soon .”

Feedback - Oct 2021

“Owners very welcoming and friendly, and very helpful when needed. Barn in lovely position and easy to get to local beach, and beyond. Lots of information on what to do and see in the large folder in the barn, plus local maps.”

Feedback - Sep 2021

“Our sixth visit to Trehyddion and yet again didn’t disappoint with wonderful personal touches such as milk, bread, cake, eggs and fresh flowers all provided as a welcome pack. Plenty to do in the area with some fabulous beaches nearby. The cottage layout works brilliantly for us with lots of space between bedrooms with the living room/kitchen being very centre. The garden is safe and secure for our dogs with plenty of space for play and wonderfully peaceful. This time we also discovered the Farmers Arms and wow what a great pub with a friendly feel and delicious food with generous portions. Walking distance too.

We also made use of the gas BBQ at the cottage this time and enjoyed a fabulous home made pavlova using eggs and fruit produced at Trehyddion.

An excellent holiday cottage and we will continue to visit in years to come.”

Feedback - Sep 2021

“A wonderful, rural, well equipped cottage run by kind, considerate and communicative people”

Feedback - Aug 2021

“Thank you for such a wonderful stay, we went as a complete family renting both barns, 3 generations together, to attend my son's wedding in Carmarthen. These barns made our stay really special. Location so quiet and beautiful. The weather was kind to us and we managed to have a lovely bbq. The freshly laid eggs from the roaming hens were a special, additional treat as we love eggs! Thank you so much to Rob and Gail.”

Feedback - Jul 2021

“Lovely hosts and welcome Barn was fab lovely and warm with the underfloor heating and wood burner nice touch with all we needed to make tea and coffee when we arrived and even a loaf of bread fresh eggs and a jar of local jam.
Had great weather so used the lovely garden all enclosed and safe for the dogs had daily visits from the horse and donkey through the fence sat for hours watching the birds in the garden .very close to beach only a short walk or 4 mins in the car .
Barn clean and well equipped wit all you need we have already booked to come back at the end of the year loved it .”

Feedback - Apr 2021

“Great property in a great location. Owners are very welcoming and attentive. Highly recommended.”

Feedback - Oct 2020

“We were welcomed very warmly by Rob, who was keen to make sure everything was just right for our stay. We knew he and his family were going away themselves that day, so we were
especially pleased that he was still there to welcome us. Everywhere was spotless, which in these days of Covid-19, was very reassuring. The barn had everything we needed and was very comfortable.”

Feedback - Sep 2020

“Such a lovely property, really nicely laid out and equipped and the private garden is an added bonus if you have dogs with you. We really enjoyed our stay and our daughter loved looking after the chickens each morning. The location is very peaceful and it is a short drive to the nearest beach where there are some lovely walks.”

Feedback - Aug 2020

“Our second time at Trehyddion Barn having stayed in the Haybarn last time in 2016 and the Long Barn was perfect for us with 2 children (aged 5 & 2), we really can't fault either property across both visits.

Rob & Gail are so welcoming and let our eldest help with feeding the ducks & hens and milking the goats whcih she loved to do. The added bonus of collecting fresh eggs was enjoyed by everyone!

The location is perfect for exploring and we did lots of different stuff to the previous trip including the Gwili Steam Train, Kidwelly Castle, Broad Haven South Beach & Lily Ponds (Gail's recommendation) as well as going back to Llansteffan Beach and Castle and the local pub in Llanybri.

We would recommend Trehyddion to anyone and i am sure we will return for a 3rd time.”

Feedback - Feb 2020

“Converted barn done to a very high standard. So welcoming. Lovely relaxing weekend. We hope to return.”

Feedback - Jan 2020

“Our fifth visit and it didn’t disappoint. Warm, clean and lovely touches such as home made cake, bread and fresh flowers. We just love this place and Rob and Gail are just the nicest of people. Will be revisiting next year for sure.”

Feedback - Nov 2019

“A fantastic cottage in a very quiet area, ideal for a relaxing holiday. The cottage was perfect, on arrival there was bread, milk, eggs and home made brownies. The cottage was clean and well equipped, with the log burner making it very cosy. The owners are extremely welcoming and friendly, and are
always happy to help. They took the children round the farm, showing them all the different animals and letting them milk the goats, the children loved it. There is a chicken outside you can look after and collect eggs from, again the children loved this! The local beach is beautiful, with some great walks for dogs. There are a few local pubs with our favourite being The Farmers Arms, serving fantastic food and again the owners were extremely friendly and welcoming. We will definitely be returning.”

Feedback - Oct 2019

“Lovely well equipped every think you need dogs loved it safe garden to play in”

Feedback - Oct 2019

“Very much agree with previous reviews....a wonderful barn conversion in a beautiful part of Wales. Rob was a fantastic host, very friendly and obviously wanting to make our stay as happy as possible. Very comfortable accommodation for us, two kids (4 and 7) and mum. Feels like you are in the middle of nowhere but only 10-15 mins from Carmarthen. Kids loved looking after the chickens and collecting the eggs, playing with the dogs, and having a bit of freedom to play outside. We all enjoyed re-visiting Llansteffan, Llaugharne, Pembrey, Wiseman's Bridge, the Goldmine at Dolaucothi and the Botanical Gardens of Wales. We will definitely be coming back.”

Feedback - Aug 2019

“Me and my family had a wonderful stay at Trehyddion Barn just recently. Rob & Gail were most helpful with all their information regarding the Barn and the area we were staying in. The accommodation was lovely and clean and had good facilities for my Dad who is disabled. We hope to be back again one day.”

Feedback - Aug 2019

“This was our second stay at the Longbarn and we had a great time. We were welcomed with milk, bread and delicious chocolate brownies after a long journey. Our children enjoyed visiting and feeding the chickens, goats and kids. We even had a tractor ride which was fun. Rob and Gail make perfect hosts. We will be back.”

Feedback - Jul 2019

“We really enjoyed our stay at Longbarn, the accommodation is comfortable with lots of character, set in a beautiful location offering a fantastic base to explore South Wales. Rob and Gail were really welcoming and friendly, I am sure we will be staying again and would recommend a stay to anyone without hesitation.”

Feedback - Jul 2019

“The Trehyddion Barns we're all we could have wanted for a lovely family holiday. The location was quiet and a brilliant base from which to explore south Wales. The barns we're excellently equipped with nothing we didn't find.The downstairs bedroom & wet room was perfect for our less abled relative.The personal touches of home baked goodies, fresh flowers, logs for the fire and immediate supplies was lovely. The hosts Rob & Gail were amazing, very friendly people providing us daily with eggs,fresh garden herbs, & strawberries from their garden.They have wealth of knowledge of the surrounding area & gave us lots of ideas for things to do for a good day out. We loved their friendly dogs Ben & Peppa's greeting us on our return each day. The enclosed gardens meant carefree happy hours of frolicking for our pooches.
My niece loved having charge of a few chickens & feeding the goats & horses.
Overall a fantastic holiday, it's a 10/10 from us.
We will definitely return & have already recommended the place to good friends xx”

Feedback - Jun 2019

“Wonderful cottage plenty of room comfy beds. We went as a family of four generations including a two year old and she loved it as she could go straight out into the garden The cottage was extremely well equipped with everything and more.The downstairs bedroom was very useful as it had a wet room There are many places of interest including Tenby Saundersfoot Carmarthen Llaugharne and Llansteffan Beach is only a few minutes away. We all loved it and had a lovely welcome when we arrived. The weather wasn't wonderful but there was still plenty to do.”

Feedback - Jun 2019

“Rob and Gail made us very welcome. The barn was warm and comfortable, as well as being well equiped. It was an ideal centre from which to explore this part of Wales. There are several reasonably priced eating places in the area. We particulatrly enjoyed eating at the Mansion House, which although not cheap, had wonderful views over the estuary.”

Feedback - May 2019

“Wonderful break.
Our family really enjoyed a taste of country life.
The enclosed garden was fantastic for our dogs, and being able to bbq was a bonus.
We will visit again.
Thank you so much.
Mair”

Feedback - Apr 2019

“We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the barn had everything we needed, it has been done so well. The welcome was amazing, fresh bread, milk, fresh farm eggs and lovely chocolate brownies.
Rob and Gail were lovely, so welcoming, nothing was too much trouble and they gave us lots of information about where to go etc. They even gave the boys a chocolate Easter bunny each. The boys loved feeding the chickens and the games room, the garden was very safe for them and the dog.
We would definely recommend the Longbarn and would return.”

Feedback - Apr 2019

“This is a fabulous property that has been lovingly crafted into a cosy and comfortable holiday let. We’ve stayed 4 years running and each time we’ve not been disappointed. Homemade cake, milk, bread and home hatched eggs are a lovely touch and nothing is too much trouble for Rob and Gail. I never want to come home and so look forward to visiting again. Lovely beach nearby with a cafe and a tea hut with great walks on the beach and to the castle.”

Feedback - Nov 2018

“Excellent! We would definitely go again! Loved the barns little quirks, loved the brownies. My daughter loved collecting the eggs with Rob everyday. The beach is lush and only a 2 minute drive! The horses are lovely and friendly as are the dogs. Perfect! Thanks Gail and Rob!”

Feedback - Oct 2018

“Very welcoming and friendly a lovely place to stay”

Feedback - Sep 2018

“We have had the most wonderful stay here. A fantastic cottage well located for quiet beaches, good food and great days out.
Wonderful for children who love animals and Rob and Gail went out of their way to include our little boy, taking him on a tractor ride, showing him where to collect eggs and to meet the goats - he was thrilled. Couldn't ask for more. Thank you.”

Feedback - Aug 2018

“We all really enjoyed our holiday, the owners were friendly and happy to assist and offer recommendations. It was the perfect place for a 3 year old, safe and wither added benefits of the garden and the animals. We would recommend”

Feedback - Jun 2018

“Such a delightful property and very hospitable owners who left us chocolate brownies, milk and eggs on our arrival.

Directions worked perfectly and the house was as clean as a pin on arrival.

Would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting to stay.”

Feedback - Apr 2018

“Just returned from a visit with Gail and Rob at this delightful peaceful hideaway. It was recommended by a friend who calls it her happy place; now it is also mine. Wonderfully appointed, it is warm, cosy and accessible.The owners are friendly, welcoming and generous. A welcome tray with milk, tea, coffee and homebaked cakes is only bettered by the tasty Trehyddion eggs. A woodburner and good heating made the cold weather irrelevant. The games room gave us a place to let off steam. Feeding the fowl and animals; Rob is encouraging but not pushy which meant we could be as hands-on with the animals as we wanted; collecting eggs and handling the newly hatched chicks. The barn is well placed for the beach and castle at Llansteffan as well as visits to Laugharne, Tenby, the National Botanic Garden, Folly Farm, etc, etc. Cannot wait to go back again. Thank you, Rob and Gail....and Rosie for the loan of the wellies! Thanks also to West Wales Holiday Cottages for a fuss-free, effective booking”

Tilsley family, April 2018

“A fantastic family run cottage, kept in spotless condition by the owners, who’ve clearly thought through what a three-generational visiting family need. The owners helped our three year old feed animals, collect eggs and made us all feel welcome. The venue lends itself well to family time with a central living area with lovely central table, all modern cooking facilities and plenty of bathrooms for teenagers to prean in! A lovely cottage that inspired a a great family break.”

Feedback - Mar 2018

“We had a lovely weekend in the Barn, despite the weather. The barn has been beautifully converted, it is really well equipped and it has all the little things that help make a short stay so easy (tea, welcome cakes, eggs, salt, pepper, washing powder, logs, matches, etc etc). ...and for children it's wonderful. Not only is it somewhere new for hide-and-seek (!), Rob is very kind in helping them feed the chickens and ducks and see the horses and donkeys close-up. We loved it!”

Feedback - Jan 2018

“Enjoyed the warm welcome, Rob was very excited to guide us around the barn when we first arrived, loved that, very settling. Mum loved her living quarters, she popped out like a cuckoo clock time to time! Inspiring barn conversion, wish it was ours. Perfect for families of all ages 1 to 99. Bright and airy yet cosy as well.Thanks for thinking of everything very thoughtful people. Exceptionally clean too.Well done! Would recommended to friends.Thanks again
Jane + Marco”

Feedback - Nov 2017

“We loved our stay at Longbarn and could have very easily stayed the whole week, it was a last minute rearranging after our dog sitter cancelled, the booking was handled promptly and instructions given for our journey. We are hoping to return very soon. Barn was spacious, beautifully decorated and very homely. Gail and Rob were very accommodating and friendly, even arrived to fresh eggs, bread, milk and homemade brownies! Also great for the dog, especially the understanding that he was a rescue and liked to have a bark at new people. Thank you so much for our wonderful stay!”

Feedback - Sep 2017

“Well- equipped cottage with helpful, friendly owners, A delightful place, especially for children, with hens and horses to feed!”

Feedback - Aug 2017

“Wonderful holiday destination. The long barn is as stated and is very clean and tidy with good amenities. The owners are very plesent and we're very helpful and kind to us and the children while we stayed there. The children were shown chickens,goats and horses and they were allowed to feed the chickens and collected their eggs,which we ate and were delicious. In all we all had a wonderful time at the TREHYDDION long Barn and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a quite destination to stay at. The location was close to lots of places to visit and there was a large package of leaflets in the property showing where to go to. In all 10 out of 10 from us.”

Feedback - Aug 2017

“The owners were very helpful and friendly, and responded well to our old mother.s needs.”

Feedback - Jul 2017

“A very comfortable and well equipped barn. Spacious wet & shower rooms & comfortable beds. Plenty of space for a family and enclosed garden for children & dogs.
The owners are extremely friendly & helpful.
Children love feeding the chickens & collecting fresh eggs.”

Feedback - Jul 2017

“We stayed in the Longbarn with our son and his family including our two grandchildren and we all had such an enjoyable stay. Rob and Gail were the perfect hosts, so welcoming and helpful. Harry and Annabelle especially loved visiting the chickens, ducks and baby goats, and Harry still talks about his ride in Rob's tractor, fantastic. The Longbarn is probably the best holiday cottage we've stayed in, extremely well equipped, very cosy, the countryside is beautiful and the night sky from Trehyddion is spectacular. Thank you so much Rob and Gail, hope to see you again.
The Cope family from Shropshire.”

Feedback - May 2017

“Our stay was perfect
Nothink was any trouble
Barn conversion was so well done
And the disability room on ground floor
Was excellent
The shower/wet room ,was a godsend
Helping my partner maintain his independence whist away
The goodies that were left on the table are a lovely gesture and much appreciated.
We were so impressed we've re booked for September 2017”

Feedback - May 2017

“Excellent place to stay. Everything you need to make your stay enjoyable. Grandkids loved their bedroom with the little Windows and enjoyed watching the horses. They looked forward to feeding the chickens and asked for a return visit. The barn is a good location for touring the area, the beach at Llansteffan is amazing - vast span of clean sand and not over crowded. We had a fruitful day at the races, visited the botanical gardens which are well worth a visit and visited some amazing restaurants. Can recommend the 'Inn in the sticks and The Farmers Arms plus if you love shopping you will love Narbeth and in Bethesda a visit to the farm shop and cafe is a must. Can throughly recommend and we will defiantly be back. Thank you for an amazing week.”

Feedback - Apr 2017

“A lovely warm welcome from the owners Rob and Gail as soon as we arrived. The cottage was beautifully presented with a lovely selection of goodies on our arrival . The cottage had everything you could possibly want to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. The children especially enjoyed the games room and the farm animals. MY 11 yr daughter was up bright and early every morning to help feed the chickens and collect the eggs. Into the week Gail the owner allowed our daughters to help her care for all the animals which included goats , chickens and horses , they were in their element.
The cottage was located near to some stunning beaches , I mean miles and miles of sand and very few people ..... heaven!!
Rob and Gail were always on hand to offer suggestions on walks and days out and also to remedy any problems which I'm pleased to say we had none , apart from needing more logs for the fabulous log burner.
We would not hesitate in recommending this cottage and will definitely be visiting again.”

Feedback - Feb 2017

“Our second stay at Longbarn and it's a truly wonderful place. Ducks running around the paddock, fresh country air and a warm inviting barn that has everything you need to make it a relaxing and enjoyable stay. Rob and Gail go the extra mile to welcome their guests and lovely touches as homemade cake and a tea tray evidences their hosting skills. We will return undoubtedly.”

Feedback - Nov 2016

“The long barn was perfect for our stay. As a support worker, this property was great for some one with limited mobility. The property on whole was extremely comfortable especially the beds. A well equipped kitchen which included all cleaning items. A lovely touch was the welcoming tea/coffee, milk, home made brownies, the fresh flowers and duck eggs. The property was in a great position for touring.”

Feedback - Oct 2016

“Thank you Rob and Gail for a wonderful stay in your beautiful cottage. It made a comfortable base for some superb excursions.”

Feedback - Sep 2016

“The Longbarn was an ideal location for exploring Carmarthen and Pembroke, and Rob and Gail were most helpful and hospitable, and nothing was too much trouble.
The cottage facilities were excellent particularly the downstairs bedroom and wetroom, which was ideal for our daughter,who is paraplegic and confined to a wheelchair. We will certainly visit again and fully recommend to our friends.”

Feedback - Sep 2016

“Loved it,kitchen very well equipped.rob was great with the grandchildren giving them a ride on his tractor and letting them feed the goats and chickens.”

Feedback - Jul 2016

“Fantastic location, very high standard of accommodation. I would recommend this property to anyone. We have 2 children and they really enjoyed their stay, it had everything from a table tennis table to horses, goats, ducks and hens to feed and interact with. I can't say enough about this place! We will definitely be back.”

Feedback - Jun 2016

“Rob and Gail were charming and so attentive.

The build quality of the barn is outstanding.

The ducks are delightful and the eggs, something else.

They let us down a little with the weather but even then it was great to be out.

Perfect break. Thank you.
Chris, Sam and Lexie x”

Feedback - Feb 2016

“we really enjoyed staying at the Longbarn. The property was just as advertised and we thoroughly enjoyed the farmhouse style. My husband is disabled and the owners, Rob and Gail Clayton, couldn't have been more helpful. Would highly recommend it.”

Feedback - Jan 2016

“Rob and Gail made us feel extremely welcome as soon as we arrived. Cottage was beautiful and homely. Thanks.”

Feedback - Oct 2015

“Lovely people and property really well kept and in beautiful rural Wales, loved the woodburner and all the animals”

Feedback - Sep 2015

“We were made to feel very welcome on our arrival at the Longbarn and was pleased at the thoughtfulness of Rob and Gail to supply basic essentials (ie milk, orange juice and fabulous duck and hen eggs) and the brownies and the wild flowers were a lovely touch. The property was very well equipped with everything provided to make our stay just that more special.

We would recommend this property to both our friends and family.”

Feedback - Sep 2015

“We really enjoyed our two weeks in the Longbarn - The children loved feeding the animals, finding eggs, and going down to the beach, and the tractor ride was a highlight for them. The barn was so comfortable and spacious, and on a couple of chilly nights we had the fire going. Gail and Rob were outstanding hosts, and ensured we had everything we needed.”

Feedback - Sep 2015

“Rob and Gail are the kindest and most welcoming of guests, and the Longbarn had everything we needed. The location near the Towy estuary is beautiful, with lots to see and do. If you have elderly or disabled family or friends as we did, the accommodation is ideal, and nothing is too much trouble for the owners. Highlights of our stay included Fish and chips on the beach at Llansteffan, and the amazing views from the castle; the friendly welcome at The Tin Shed in Laugharne, Dylan Thomas' writing shed and the Boathouse, where he lived; a delicious Thai meal at the local pub, and cream tea on the Gwili Railway. If you are Townies like us, the stars at night will blow you away!”

Feedback - Aug 2015

“Very enjoyable stay. Lovely cottage ideally suited for our disabled relative who found the separate downstairs bedroom and wet room very easy to manage.

Owners couldn't have been more helpful providing a recliner chair for the sitting area and other assistance aids for us.

A welcome pack of essentials was awaiting us on our arrival and a very nice touch , a jug of flowers picked from the garden.

Would certainly recommend. Thankyou.”

Feedback - Aug 2015

“We had an absolutely wonderful time at Trehyddion and Gail & Rob are very gracious and welcoming hosts. The kids loved the chickens and table tennis.
We loved the peaceful setting and wanted for nothing in the barn.
Gail even organised a delivery from the local farm shop for us which was delicious!”

Feedback - Jul 2015

“Wonderful visit, the owner was excellent and made us feel very welcome and looked after.”

Feedback - Jun 2015

“It was a great break in a fantastic holiday home, great amenities, plenty of room for the wheelchair and in a beautiful setting. Their was plenty to do, feeding ducks, chickens and horses, fresh eggs when collected them,an enclosed garden to play in, a supermarket, chippy and a tearoom all nearby.
The weather was great so everyone enjoyed their stay with friendly owners that went out of their way to help.
Tea, coffee, milk, bread and even homemade brownies was all provided, ready for when you got there , brilliant.
Thank you for a great holiday.”

Feedback - May 2015

“We had an excellent stay in the Long Barn. The children thoroughly enjoyed the homemade brownies, looking after the chickens, having a fire every night and the impromptu tractor ride and horse feeding offered by Rob. Rob and Gail were incredibly welcoming and we felt that nothing was too much trouble. We will certainly recommend the barn to friends and family.”

Feedback - Mar 2015

“Great place and nothing was too much trouble to sort out by Rob”

Feedback - Mar 2015

“Really enjoyed our stay. Beautiful accommodation. Super friendly owners.
The children were thrilled with their tractor ride and feeding apples to the friendly horses. We will be back!”

Feedback - Dec 2014

“we had an amazing weekend staying in the longbarn, the accommodation is fantastic, can't wait to go back, Rob and Gail are very welcoming and helpful hosts.Sara,Gillard,Shalka & Steve Thankyou very much”

Feedback - Nov 2014

“We had such a lovely stay in the long barn, the pictures on the internet do not do the property justice although it looks great in the pictures . It has been converted beautifully ,it is such a warm and cosy home from home .it is also wheelchair and special needs friendly with a ground floor bedroom with wet room. The owners Robert and Gail are so welcoming and really do go that extra mile to ensure that your stay is the best it can be. I would recommend it to anyone It would be wonderful any season give it a go.”

Feedback - Sep 2014

“Had a wonderful week at The Longbarn. Everything you wished was supplied and the fresh eggs were out of this world. So relaxing we only went out a couple of times and one of those included a trip to the supermarket!”

Feedback - Jul 2014

“We had a fabulous time at Trehyddion Longbarn. Our hosts were fantastic. One day, strawberries would appear on the patio,the next, hen and duck eggs, then wild flowers in a lovely vase would appear outside on the garded table.
We chose this property because it was Disabled friendly, (a sentente that is often used and very rarely true) but this property certainly lived up to our expectations
Would definately recommend this property to famliy, colleagues and other families like us who have disabled people in their parties It all helped to make our stay that much better. ps, the weather was beautiful as well.

Rod birchall MBE
Warrington Ceshire”

Feedback - Jun 2014

“We could not have asked more. Superb all round. Cannot fault at all and will definitely be back. Thank you!! 5 stars!!”

Feedback - Oct 2013

“Overall our stay was really lovely and Robert was very friendly and helpful when we arrived. We went with a 19 month old and there was a good travel cot and highchair at the property. It is a pretty cottage with all the mod cons that you need and only 5 mins to a lovely beach.”

Feedback - Oct 2013

“Thank you for allowing us to bring our 3 dogs. Having a large secure back garden was really important.”

Feedback - Sep 2013

“We had a wonderful stay in a beautiful long barn. Rob, Gale and their family were brilliant from the very start,I cannot recommend this place highly enough!”

Feedback - Aug 2013

“Excellent accommodation and well appointed for bathrooms etc. Outside was very safe for toddlers and children and the "farm" environment was ideal.”

Feedback - Jul 2013

“This is a fantastic barn conversion and all the accommodation is first clas. The bedrooms are all superb and the kitchen/diner/living space was fantastic as it lead directly to the patio.
Rob and Gail are fantastic hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them.
Our 8 year old daughter has ambitions to be a vet so to have chickens to look after, a Welsh Black 1 day old calf to visit, 1 day old chicks to see (and later hold when they had bonded with their mother) to say nothing of Ben the farm dog meant that this was a most enjoyable stay.”

Feedback - Jul 2013