Reviews marked 'Feedback' were left by guests via the West Wales Holiday Cottages feedback form and then submitted by the owner. Any other comments were sent in by the owner from the property's visitor book.

“Lovely tranquil place to stay. Very relaxing.”

Donna, Colin and Tyson (dog), Chelsmford, Essex - Aug 2019

“Wow! This little slice of paradise can only be described as a Welsh Eden. The emerald trees, the flutter of birds and the River Cothi as your neighbour. We are absolutely devastated to leave! Back to the gruelling reality of town/city life. Thank you so much Nikki. It was a pleasure to meet you. The duck eggs tasted amazing. Thank you for fulfilling my Walt Disney princess dreams for a week. I shall miss your charming cottage. Ned and Kelly loved the pack of carrots. Hope to return one day. Tourist brochures are totally unnecessary! We didn't want to leave this place for a second - not even to go to the shops!”

Sophie and Dave, Halesowen, West Midlands. Aug 2019

“Wow, what a beautiful cosy cottage. A little piece of heaven on earth. Wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy the peace and tranquillity. Thank you for your wonderful welcome and hospitality and your dog. Sydney is a long way but we'd love to return. Had many laughs at the squirrel antics, great tits, sparrows, woodpeckers, blue tits and robins. Fab to meet Ned and Kelly (the donkeys) our names for them LOL. Hope to visit again some day.”

Jason and Sarah Noon, Sydney, Australia. June 2019

“Thank you for your hospitality. Your Cottage is truly lovely and we have had a really relaxing holiday. It was lovely to see all the birds - and squirrels! - on the bird table. Even though we had rain we enjoyed exploring the different coast lines. Pembrey beach being a favourite. Thank you.”

Sache, Jason and Jasper, Nottinghamshire. June 2019

“Thank you for an amazing time. The cottage is lovely and the area is beautiful. the weather was great! We climbed to the Lady of the Lake and got burnt. We saw so many birds on the feeder. Look forward to coming back soon. Thank you.”

Bethany, Jake, little Bizz and Brawr, Hertfordshire. May 2019

“Loved everything about the cottage. Very tranquil. Not for those who are looking to walk to a pub although there are pubs/restaurant short drive away. We had a perfect weekend.”

Feedback - May 2019

“We've had a perfect weekend. Couldn't have wished for better. First experience of hiring a holiday cottage and we'll certainly be looking for this type of break in the future and no doubt return to the Cottage. We recommend the New Inn for Sunday lunch (Amroth). I feel completely de-stressed thanks to the tranquil setting, the walks, gardens and the odd glass of wine. Thank you for letting us stay in your beautiful cottage.”

Maureen and Stuart, Cardiff. May 2019

“This was a super little cottage in the quietest of locations. So relaxing and beautiful.
The owner Nikki was lovely and very helpful.
We only stayed for 2 nights, but wish it had been for much longer.
We will be back!
Caroline, David and Frieda the Great Dane.”

Feedback - May 2019

“What an absolute gem! We've only been here for two nights but we've loved it. A truly perfect location for peace and quiet. We've seen lots of Red Kites and the Woodpecker on the bird feeder. Llandeilo is a lovely place to visit, as is the beach at Pembrey, plus it's sand not pebbles. Thank you. It was lovely to meet you and I'm sure we will come again, hopefully soon.”

Caroline, David and Frieda the Great Dane, Holmfirth, West Yorkshire, May 2019

“The stay was just as I thiought it would be, a great location fanstanstic setting and very peaceful recommend it.

Thank you”

Feedback - Apr 2019

“We both have enjoyed the stay in your beautiful cottage with the dog Blue. It's a great location out of the way from the hectic town and city life. Every day we came back from some lovely visits around, it became a different world. Thank you for letting us share your special peaceful and quiet place.”

Les, Nerys and Blue, Tavistock, Devon, April 2019

“We have had a lovely weekend. Such a lovely cottage in a beautiful location. I loved having the washer/drier - so when we came back wet after a long walk/bike ride - we could wash and be ready again the next day. Thank you for renting out this lovely place. Hope to be back one day in the future”

Lone and Richard, March 2019

“At 83 and 77, after 57 years married it is easy to take each other for granted. However, this tiny piece of paradise is the perfect place to recapture our youth and romance. The photographs we will take home after yet another perfect visit will remind us in years to come why we love it here. I am sure we will return. Thank you”

Alma and Brian, Feb/Mar 2019

“This romantic little hideaway is the perfect escape for nature loving couples. Open the doors and all you see are trees and mountains whose appearances change with the weather and the time of day. Sheep in the field opposite, the river in the valley between and best of all the variety of birds which come to visit the bird table just feet from the door. The only sounds are the birds, the sheep and the river. This is not our first visit and it won't be our last.”

Feedback - Feb 2019

“Unfortunately we only stayed for three days. Not enough!! Can recommend Tenby beach. Thank you for your warm hospitality and delightful cottage”

Janie and Luke, Feb 2019

“Perfect place in a stunning setting! The weather was perfect and everything we could need from a break away was here. We spent many hours just listening to the river rolling by. Nikki was quick to introduce herself and made the ideal host. We will be returning. Many thanks for having us”

Maddie and Lee, Feb 2019

“Beautiful setting very remote ideal to get away from everything for awhile”

Feedback - Sep 2018

“Lovely to stay in a tastefully renovated Welsh cottage, without the usual plastic windows and doors, plus the roomy exciting art deco fridge! Have been fascinated by the many and varied styles of handwriting in this book, and sketches of birds and flowers. What a great location. God bless you every day. Thanks.”

Basil and Shirley, Sep 2018

“Consider yourselves lucky to find this magical place. Love everything about it although Fly is having a slight breakdown with all the squirrels so near!”

Di and Lyn with Fly (Border Collie), Sep 2018

“Lovely cottage. We particularly appreciated the clear indication of a high chair / cot and the photos on the website because we could decide in advance how we were going to make the kitchen toddler-proof! The ability to buy eggs from the farm was an added bonus!”

Feedback - Aug 2018

“Tranquil and relaxing, just what we both needed. The Cottage was cosy, clean and had everything we needed. Thank you for letting us share in your little bit of Welsh heaven.”

Paul and Karen, Mid Glamorgan, August 2018

“Teresa and I absolutely loved the Cottage. We thoroughly enjoyed the animals, the birds coming to the feeder (including the hens!) and the river. It has been the most amazing and relaxing holiday. We got our walking done and managed to read a couple of books. We will definitely be back soon as I need to bring my boyfriend to see this place asap!. Thank you for welcoming us to your piece of heaven.”

Guilia and Teresa, London/Italy, August 2018

“this is the best place to relax and take in the beauty of the welsh countryside. The cottage is isolated and immersed in nature, you can spend hours looking at the river or at the birds coming to the feeders in the garden, walking along the green lane past fields of sheep, farms and woods. The cottage itself is cosy, complete with all amenities and very clean.”

Feedback - Aug 2018

“We have had a fantastic weekend here at the Cottage. The weather has been beautiful, so peaceful and relaxing, plenty of places to go off for walks with our dog. Hope to return soon. Thanks”

Cath and David, South Wales, August 2018

“We have had a lovely five days at the Cottage. John caught a lovely brown trout which I had for my tea (2lb). He also fished on the Cothi for the afternoon and had a great day. So much to enjoy and would love to come back again. Many thanks”

Janie and John, Aug 2018

“Thanks Nikki for a wonderful time at the Cottage. One of the highlights has been having real "free range eggs" to enjoy. The weather has been great and we've had no need to light the wood burner. We (like many before us)have enjoyed the birds visiting the bird table. Neither of us had seen woodpeckers before. We've had the river walks and had a few days out visiting National Trust properties near by. We would love to return when the river is higher and David could try and catch our supper!!!! It's been a great week. We'd love to visit again”

David and Jeanette, July 2018

“Another holiday in Wales - our favourite place to visit. Living as we do in a very busy tourist town and all the building of houses and roads it is always a joy to escape to this part of the world. Lots to see and do or just relax in this little cottage and watch the world go by - the world being peace, quiet, wildlife, woodland, rivers, valley - the things that bring us back time and time again. Thanks to Nikki and all the animals. We hope you enjoy it too!”

Lesley and Paul, July 2018

“OMG We wanted a peaceful place for a getaway from our busy lives and we found it here at the Cottage. The birds, the river and the valley were perfect. We slept 'till late, had lazy days reading and taking Judge for swims in the river (we couldn't get him out). Just what we needed. Thank you. We had a great break”

Wendy and Rob, July 2018

“We've had such a wonderful relaxing weekend,just what we wanted. A fabulous, cosy cottage with everything you need for a short getaway. Paul has enjoyed the fishing, even managed to catch a very small brown trout which made his day! Thank you for making us feel so welcome. Hopefully the sun will shine on our next visit!”

Ali and Paul, June 2018

“We have had a lovely time in this cosy cottage, beautiful surroundings. We have enjoyed watching the different types of birds and the squirrel has kept us amused. Many thanks. We will definitely visit again”

Steph, Chris and Jack, June 2018

“We had a great time in this beautiful, well equipped little cottage. The location is idyllic and serene. There are loads of great places to walk nearby, such as the Brechfa forest, as well as the cottage being a good base to go further afield, such as the coast. There's also loads to explore in the immediate surroundings. We've fallen in love with the place and intend to come again, hopefully many times”

Matthew, Tracey and Baxter, May 2018

“A wonderfully secluded cottage in an idyllic setting. Fantastic to get out of the rat race and back to nature! Can’t wait for our next visit!”

Feedback - May 2018

“Beautiful cottage, everything you need and more, in a stunning location. Near enough to the coast and fishing on your doorstep - a perfect getaway. Many thanks”

Nicki, Chris and Molly, May 2018

“Perfect bolthole in the countryside with everything you could possibly need and more. The cottage was cosy, comfortable and tasteful and I have no hesitation in recommending to others.”

Feedback - May 2018

“What a heavenly place!! Love Nikki and all the animals. Place is to die for. We are moving in soon shh!! Don't tell. Thanks a million”

Jill, David and Lexxy, May 208

“Nikki and her family and animals were very friendly and helpful. 5 star accommodation. Lovely dark skies. Very peaceful location.”

Feedback - May 2018

“A beautiful setting, a lovely cottage and a warm welcome from the lovely owner. We were blessed with wonderful sunshine but would have enjoyed our short stay here in all weathers. We shall happily recommend the Bothy to our friends and families”

Elizabeth, Chris and Sophie (the yorkie), April 2018

“Lovely, well-equipped cottage. Beautifully warm in a cold damp February. Ozzy really enjoyed our walks out at Brechfa forest, on the beach at Llansteffan and at Dinefwr estate. Very peaceful getaway, just what we wanted”

Jenny, Dave and Ozzy, Bristol. February 2018

“A pleasant few days away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. A great location. How lovely to see all the birds feeding and nature at its best”

Martin and Yvonne. February 2018

“A delightful retreat, away from it all, after the hectic Christmas period. Magical morning mists, awesome starry skies, glorious blue skies, and the constant chorus of birdsong. And much more..... Days out at Llansteffan, New Quay, Mwnt, always a pleasure to visit.”

Steve and Sharon, January 2018

“Beautiful spot, wonderful cottage, magical few days.”

Feedback - Jan 2018

“Lovely relaxing few days at the cottage. Thanks so much for the lovely welcome and for fitting us in last minute. Had a lovely day at Dinefwr walking. Hope to return soon”

Helen and Ajay, New Year 2017-18

“Have had a lovely relaxing Christmas. Hope to come back in the summer. Many thanks”

Colin and Lesley, Christmas 2017

“Had a wonderful 10 days at Nikki's cottage. Very comfortable. Nikki great host and easy to talk to. Dogs enjoyed themselves too despite the old one being blind. Lots to see around the delightful area. Enjoyed National Botanical Gardens of Wales in particular, also Dinefaw Park and the Dolaugochi Mines.”

Feedback - Oct 2017

“Had a lovely relaxing holiday, sleeping well too in your cottage over 10 nights. Lovely countryside. Enjoyed Dinefwr deer park, Doulaucothi gold mines, Laugharne, National Botanical Gardens of Wales, and Bury Port. Good food at the Cresselly Arms and Whitemill inn. Plenty of shops to look around in Carmarthen. Thanks for the little chats and hugs to Mansel. Thanks too for allowing us to exercise Nell and Molly our blind Labrador on your land - (it took all the worry out of her hating being on a lead and she soon worked out a routine walk around the field). Once again thanks.”

Chris and Trish (Shropshire). October 2017

“Thank you for a lovely weekend. Your cottage is very pretty and cosy and the nature around is magnificent.”

Camille and Julien (Gloucestershire). October 2017

“Thank you for a lovely holiday, nice and quiet. Lovely to see the birds and all your lovely animals especially Ned and George”

Roy, Janet and Tilly, Sep 2017

“Thank you for letting us stay. We loved the Cottage, view, animals and peace and quiet. Really enjoyed Brechfa forest. Had a sunny day at New Quay and Tenby. Weather just right. Dogs had a lovely holiday. They are going home for a rest but we are very rested. Thank you. Lovely cottage. Hope to stay again one day”

Trish, Ian, Skye and Elsa, Aug 2017

“Seren and us have had a splendid stay in your lovely cottage. Seren fell deeply in love with your donkey Ned and we will have to cheer her up facing donkeyless times. Whenever we walked out, she turned right and showed no interest in the sheep. Speaking about the weather, not worth a mention (rain. rain, rain and showers). However, with the right equipment, you can see the sunny side of life in the hills”

Seren and the other from North Wales, Aug 2017

“We have had a lovely time. Great weather so we have has bbq's and lit the inside wood burner! It's the cosiest little Cottage and was a lot more remote than what we first thought! - which was perfect. We were looking for a quiet, relaxing break and that's what we had. Wish we had seen the donkeys but maybe next time. Our highlight has been sitting in the garden with a glass of champagne looking at all the wild birds especially the hawks that circled us! Such a beautiful place and a perfect getaway for a couple like us. A very special couple of days for us as it's been our first year anniversary and my birthday”

The Captain and Nic, July 2017

“Lovely Cottage in a wonderful location. Had a great week and completely unwound - the perfect escape from the stress of work! The birdlife is fantastic - put some extra food/feeders out and you will be rewarded. And you couldn't have been a better "host".”

Darren (Stoke), July 2017

“We have had a lovely peaceful couple of days at this sweet little cottage. It has got everything we could need for a couple of days away. Fab walks with the dog at Brechfa - we found the further entrance to Brechfa forest near to the Black Lion pub in Abergorlech was better for walking the dog, especially when our dog is scared of bikes! We would not hesitate to visit again, however for a little longer next time. Thank you for a really enjoyable stay”

Fiona, Chris and Bella the dog, West Yorkshire. July 2017

“We have had a wonderful week in this lovely Cottage. Great walks with the dog at Llansteffan, Carreg Cennan and Llanelli beach plus fun mountain bike trails at Brechfa and Rhaeadr. Many thanks.”

Neil, Lou and Winnie

“Such a wonderful break in a fabulous unspoilt part of the country - unknown to us. The Cottage really became home for the week. Fabulous birds came to visit and feed at the bird table. The weather was too hot to travel for the first few days but being anchored here was bliss! Laugharne was our favourite place that we visited - a beautiful place and interesting and very friendly people. Would recommend the community shop at Brechfa as well as the Forest Arms pub who welcomed the dogs, Nikki has been a great "hostess" and the hen's eggs are delicious! Thank you for a really enjoyable stay. We hope to come back soon.”

John and Linda with Billy and Ruby, June 2017

“The Cottage is idyllic. A perfect retreat from the madness of life! Thank you so much we loved out stay and will definately be back”

Sarah and Andrew, May 2017

“Many thanks for the hire of your cottage and your kindly welcome. The Cottage was great. The quietness and spaciousness of the valley you live in also lovely.”

Adam Twine, Wiltshire

“Lovely cottage, so nice and peaceful. Nikki there if needed. Great holiday - thank you".”

Jackie and Don, Surrey, April 2017

“This is very nice cottage that is full of character with all the modern appliances you need and it is just the right size for a couple with a dog. The garden is self contained so our dog could be left to run around without us having to worry about it getting out.

the cottage is in a very quiet location away from the busy modern world, but the beautiful welsh countryside and seaside are not too far away.

The owners are very friendly and helpful in answering all our questions.”

Feedback - Oct 2016

“We have stayed in this cottage several times and love it. Such peaceful surroundings and wonderful location.”

Feedback - Sep 2016

“Thank you for the flowers and milk. We have had a great holiday. Love seeing the birds and butterflies, love the river at the bottom of the garden, cottage beautiful, love feeding the donkeys. Places we have visited - Pendine Beach, Burry Port, Laugharne castle, Dinefwr park and castle, Kiddwelly castle, Dylan Thomas boathouse and Brechfa forest. The dog loved her holiday. Thank you.”

Glenda, Ian and Mazie the dog, Sep 2016

“Yet another lovely week's holiday here in South Wales. Although we have stayed in the cottage several times before (first visit 2005!) we are always so pleased to arrive and sad to go! It remains a haven of peace and tranquillity, where batteries can be recharged and the beauty of nature can be truly appreciated. This time we have visited the National Botanical Garden of Wales for the first time and can highly recommend a visit. We also spent time in Haverfordwest, Cardigan (first ever visit and loved it), Pendine Beach on a September day of perfect beach weather and the Antique Fair at Carmarthen Showground was well worth the £4 entrance fee. Thank you so much Nikki for sharing this place. We'll be back!”

Alan and Heather Lewis - Brough, E. Yorks. September 2016

“What a lovely week! Didn't use the car until Wednesday and that was only to get more "provisions". Simply perfect sitting in the garden, listening to the river and watching the birds! Left on our own which is perfect. Thank you Nikki (the best plumber!!). We will be back.”

Angela and Phil, Aug 2016

“This is our first visit to the Cottage and have found it wonderful. We have found everything about it has met our needs to the full. We have visited all of the local towns and been to the coast. We have found all of the people really pleasant to speak to and kind. We hope to come back at some time.”

Den, Linda and LC, Aug 2016

“Wonderful place for relaxing and enjoying the wildlife without the distraction of the internet.”

Feedback - Aug 2016

“Much enjoyed ourselves. Will be back again. Dinner the other night excellent - Y Polyn. Lovely walk in mountains and rivers yesterday.”

David, July 2016

“Had a lovely to me at the cottage, wonderful areas for dog walking! The cottage was lovely and clean and the owner Nikki was very accommodating and welcoming. Try this place out, you won't be disappointed.”

Feedback - Jul 2016

“Very peaceful and very well equipped cottage. Lovely and quiet and with a lot of things to do in the surrounding country.”

Feedback - Jul 2016

“Great walks with the dogs at Brechfa. The Forest Arms at Brechfa worth trying for food. Also White Mill pub at Whitemill. Thank you, loved our stay.”

Pat, Chris and Cadenza and Lyric (the dogs), July 2016

“Thank you for a wonderful few days. It's been great to get away from the hustle and bustle of normal life. Such fantastic scenery and wildlife. No fish on this occasion but one accidental swim made up for it!”

Adrian and Jemima, June 2016

“We have enjoyed a beautifully sunny week in this glorious place. We have walked, fished, painted and relaxed watching the birds. Thank you, our batteries are re-charged.”

Alex, Sharon and Lily the beagle, June 2016

“This was our 5th visit over a number of years, which showa how much we enjoy our visits to the property.”

Feedback - May 2016

“Thank you for a lovely time at your holiday cottage. The weather was on our side all week. We loved walking along the river, seeing all the wildlife. Daily we saw nuthatches, woodpeckers, kites, goldfinches and more. Ned and George (the donkeys) were so friendly and adorable. The Forest Arms Pub in Brechfa does great food. We will miss the peace and quiet here, so relaxing.”

Angela and Brian, Essex, May 2016

“Peaceful and quiet. What a time the "Cottage" has been. We've lit the log burner and not moved for days. "Next time" we'll stay for a few days longer. Thanks, will definately recommend the Cottage.”

Mark, Sandie and Mojo, April 2016

“absolutely wonderful place with lovely views...
Amazing, place and would definitely go back”

Feedback - Mar 2016

“Cosy lovely cottage. Area very pretty Cothi river at bottom of garden.

Nikki was very welcoming and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay with our little dog. also the birds visiting the garden were a joy.

Lots of dog friendly parcs and walks. Folder was very informative for places to visit.

Rhossili beach is a must on a sunny day, miles of sandy beach for dogs to run. Also surfing very popular. Brecon Beacons glorious.”

Feedback - Jul 2015

“Had a lovely , peaceful stay in a lovely cottage amidst beautiful countryside . Batteries charged .”

Feedback - Jul 2015

“excellent location very relaxing surroundings.cottage really nice.will definetly be back”

Feedback - May 2015

“We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The cottage is delightful, well equipped and very comfortable. The log burner was wonderful, loved by us and our dogs! It's a perfect spot for dogs they loved the walks, the river, the underfloor heating in the bathroom and the fabulous Welsh beaches

The wildlife in the garden had us captivated, the squirrels, the Blue Jay and the woodpeckers were a delight to watch- it's the first holiday we have had where our greatest expenditure was on peanuts for the birds!!!

A beautiful place we will return to later in the year.”

Feedback - May 2015

“Really enjoyed our weekend. The log fire made it lovely and cosy. Hope to come back sometime. Many thanks.”

Andrew and Caroline, Pontardawe, Swansea. January 2015

“Beautiful, peaceful, and suitably remote get away from it all cottage with excellent hosts!”

Feedback - Jan 2015

“What a lovely little cottage. A real change from London. Thank you. ”

Elizabeth, Dec 2014

“This beautifully decorated and well furnished cottage is located in a wonderful valley. The lack of city light pollution made the stars amazing. I cannot recommend it highly enough.”

Feedback - Nov 2014

“What a beautiful retreat. The Cottage has given us the opportunity to relax for a few days. We've so enjoyed the birds in the garden, especially the nuthatch and marsh tit. Lots of great photos taken. And nearby we've seen buzzards, dippers and rock pippets. Such a pleasure for we wildlife lovers. We've been quiet, cosy and very contented and the dogs have had a lovely time too. Thank you for such an enjoyable stay”

Sue, Darren, Bridie (dog) and Lulu (dog), 3rd Nov 2014

“Many thanks for all the nice welcoming touches in a beautifully situated cottage - incredibly peaceful. Birds are a treat - when a bird of prey sent the blue tits scattering one of them hit the window and fell to the ground so we scooped him up, held him for a while to recover, then placed him in the bushes where his "clan" found him again and he joined them - flying off quite capably - phew! Enough drama.”

Sharon, Chris and Brogan (dog), Willenhall, West Midlands. October 2014

“If you love solitude and getting back to nature,perfect.”

Feedback - Oct 2014

“We came here to relax and wind down. We have certainly done that in this lovely little cottage in a lovely location. Many thanks for a super week. I am sure we will return. ”

Bill and Sylvia (Sid and Patch), Worcestershire, Sept , 2014

“We really enjoyed our stay in your lovely peaceful located cottage. Loved watching the birds, blue tits, great tits, chaffinch, nuthatch, coal tit apart from the usual sparrows, blackbirds etc. We were so lucky with the weather (sunny every day). It makes a big difference. It makes this valley even more beautiful. I am sure we will be back and will recommend it to our friends. Thank you ”

John and Marg, Shropshire, Sept 2014

“Lovely peaceful location with lots of bird life to watch
Location is also good for visiting most of Carmarthenshire.
I would recommend it for a quiet "Get away from it all" holiday”

Feedback - Sep 2014

“Just to say what a beautiful place you have and in such a beautiful settings. We had such a peaceful, lovely time. We will certainly be back. Thank you.”

Carol and Tony, Fleet, Hants. August 2014

“Had a lovely relaxing time. The cottage was cosy and peaceful. Walks in the forest and the beach, visiting old haunts bringing back memories. Will miss the silence and a good nights sleep.”

Dawn and Bill, and Dillon (the patterdale). August 2014

“We have had a lovely time in this beautiful, peaceful place. A wonderful setting to relax with visits from the birds, sheep etc. Wish we could stay longer. Thank you for a great holiday.”

Gary and Carol, August 2014

“The cottage was lovely and cosy, had walks in the forest and the beach, the perfect place to get away from it all just the sound of the river and the birds, wish we could have stayed longer.”

Feedback - Aug 2014

“We have really enjoyed our stay in your little cottage. So nice to have met you too. The birds around here are amazing, even had a hawk bump into the French doors one day. Our little dog Scamp just loved laying in his bed by the open door watching the birds eating the peanuts. Hope we manage to get down to your hide-away again one day. ”

Ann and Denis, West Sussex. August 2014

“We really enjoyed our stay in your little cottage, and enjoyed meeting you. The birds around there were amazing, and one day a hawk bumped into the French doors. The surrounding were very peaceful.”

Feedback - Aug 2014

“"First impressions last". How true is that? Well what can I say. Just wonderful! What a gorgeous tranquil life you must lead! Heavenly! Our weather was so good, normally holiday in Ireland and it rains. This is our first holiday with no rain. Had some lovely trips out, steam train, bike rides, lots of lovely tasty food. Loved the "Black Lion" Abergorlech, quaint tiny little stretch on the River Cothi. The Cottage is very cosy. Home from home. Slept well too. So happy to have got close and personal with Ned and George (donkeys). They are just too cute! Thought they were joining me in the garden at one stage, but very well behaved. Loved the birds, everything! Thank you so much for having us. Work on Monday. Yuk! Don't want to leave this gorgeous secret haven. ”

Barry and Jen Thomas, Essex. July 2014

“Really beautiful cottage
What more can we say.
We will be back.”

Feedback - Jul 2014

“We've had a really lovely time and in two weeks it only rained once! Loved the cottage and the quiet. Thanks. We'll be back with our new dog! - Sue We really didn't know how quiet and beautiful this part of Wales is. We did the most wonderful walks both inland and near the sea and did get hopelessly lost on one occasion! Thanks for having been so nice and helpful. Hope we meet again ”

Walter, Hants. July 2014

“It has all been said "wonderful". No sooner did we say to Nikki the ring on the cooker isn't working than an hour later a nice young man came and fitted a new hob. Some fish caught. The night sky amazing. A beautiful escape from a busy world.”

Ric and Carol, Staffs. July 2014

“Had a fabulous time. Cottage is beautiful and everything was perfect. Beautiful location and setting - very tranquil, peaceful and quiet. Will definitely be back again. A great way to spend our first little holiday together.”

Jo and Hugh, June 2014

“We have thoroughly enjoyed celebrating our first wedding anniversary in your beautiful cottage. A perfect place to spend quality time together. Loved the birds, donkeys, gorgeous walks, mountain biking trails and garden including picnic bench where we enjoyed a bbq listening to the river. We will definitely recommend the cottage to friends and family. Thank you”

Claire and Lee, Risca. June 2014

“EVERYTHING ABOUT OUR WEEK AT THE COTTAGE WAS JUST EXCELLENT.THE LOCATION HAS THE WOW FACTOR,THE FARM IS JUST BEAUTIFUL,WITH ALL THE ANIMALS ROAMING AROUND AND LOTS OF WILDLIFE TO SEE.
NIKKI WAS REALLY LOVELY TOO AND WE WILL GO AGAIN”

Feedback - May 2014

“Thank you for a wonderful week in this beautiful valley. The cottage, the countryside, the wildlife, all the farm animals (especially the donkeys) all added to a relaxing break in this stunning place. Thanks again and will see you all again. ”

Jan and Mike, Kent. May 2014

“A very cosy cottage in a secluded location. Plenty of wildlife to watch and sheep and donkeys in field next to the cottage. Owner very welcoming. Would certainly recommend to family and friends.”

Feedback - May 2014

“A lovely cosy cottage, just right to relax and get away from it all. Lovely walks in Brechfa Forest for the dogs. Will recommend to friends. Thanks. ”

John, Diane, Trigger and Jesse. May 2014

“Thank you for a very enjoyable and peaceful weekend. It was a perfect break from the city!”

Fern and Dave, Cardiff. May 2014

“A wonderful, peaceful cottage. Lots of wildlife to enjoy. Can't wait to return. Thank you”

Martin, Carol, Daisy and Tubs. April 2014

“Thoroughly enjoyed the peace and quiet of this beautiful cottage. Will not be long before a return visit is made.”

Feedback - Apr 2014

“A fantastic cottage, so peaceful, beautifully warm and cosy. The tranquillity was just perfect. Thank you so much”

Toni and James, April 2014

“This little cottage is a peace seeker's dream. All we could hear were the birds and the river. All we could see was beauty. It is surrounded by wonderful places to visit and is ideally situated to explore both coast and inland areas. A real find, we will be back for the autumn colours having loved the spring display.”

Feedback - Apr 2014

“A short, peaceful, although somewhat soggy break! A beautiful cottage in a wonderful location - many thanks. ”

Julia, Danny, Milo and Betsy - 4-7 April, 2014

“A lovely, peaceful break, as ever (6th visit) Many thanks ”

Isobel and Herb, 1st-4th April, 2014

“As we wanted a short break we thought we'd try the Ty Crug Cottage having stayed at the Bothy last year and we weren't disappointed. I was trying to think what to write but kept being distracted by the view through the double doors, view across the valley, squirrels in the trees, great tits, blue tits and woodpecker and the babble of the river and realised that said it all! Great Cottage Nikki. Thanks. We'll be back.”

Andrew, Roz, Hugo and Chester, March 2014

“Cosy, comfortable, quiet and two donkeys and a pregnant sheep to feed carrots to.”

Howard, Esmari, Dora and Oskar from Walmer, Kent . March 2014

“Very peaceful here, enjoyed the blue tits outside. Nice walks in Cothi and Towy valleys. Fantastic castles - Dinefwr and Carreg Cennan - a must visit for all. We had a great meal at the Castle Hotel in Llandovery which had a great vegetarian option.”

Christine and Martin, Cardigan, February 2014

“Well, we got our few days rest. They were peaceful. We did have a day dry after a wet morning but then wet, but it didn't stop us from gadding about. Being used to welsh weather we came prepared. Nikki and I, I think, could talk the hind legs off her donkey but her solitude sometimes must be nice. Very rural Nikki described it. Yes, especially at night. It is so dark you can see lots of stars.”

Sheena and Andrew from Leicester, February 2014

“Well, we found the Cottage, in the dark and rain thanks to excellent directions. Weather lovely on Sunday and managed a walk with friends before it started raining again. Monday has been lovely fine, sunny and now crisp this evening. Went to Whitemill this evening. Excellent food and well recommended by other visitors here. We wished we still had our dog Sally. She would have loved it here. Very peaceful and a lovely place for a holiday. Many thanks.”

Rob and Ceri, January 2014

“The weekend was exactly what we were looking for. Quiet, pretty location, remote but within easy reach of some good walking and a town if we needed it. The cottage itself was lovely and homely and I especially liked the cheeky Donkeys who came to visit us a few times from the neighbouring field! (I hope you don't mind but I had to give them a carrot!)”

Feedback - Oct 2013

“Nikki, wonderful location, cosy cottage and peace! Perfect getaway from the world. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. ”

Alastair and Katie (Zak and Harvey) - Edinburgh. 18-21st October, 2013

“Nikki, Thanks for the perfect break. No phones, no wifi just wonderful!!!!! The peace and tranquility of the valley is so relaxing. I envy your spot. Idyllic seclusion. The cottage is so comfortable and cosy with the little stove going. The welcoming "bolt hole" I have always looked for and now have found!! You made us feel so welcome and I loved all the animals See you again soon”

Angie and John, Jasper and Maisie (Cotswold Edge). 11-18th October, 2013

“Lovely peaceful setting and beautiful countryside. Perfect for our two day break.”

Jane, Tim and Toby (the Springer), Stoke sub Hamdon, Somerset. 4-6th October, 2013

“Nikki, Thank you so much for such a lovely stay. Perfect setting, perfect cottage - perfect break away! Rufus and Smiffy had a great time too! We'll be visiting again no doubt. Thanks again.”

Neil, Sarah, Rufus and Smiffy (Fairwater, Cardiff) 20-22nd September 2013

“We have thoroughly enjoyed our relaxing break in the Cottage. No control over the weather, which turned out ok after some initial bad forecasts! Enjoyed the comforting warmth of a "real fire" and the idyllic surroundings. Leaving here is sadder than we can explain but look forward to a return and to enjoy another total "chill out!". Even the dog was totally relaxed -”

Ky, Wayne and Zeus the dog, Sep 13

“A perfect, peaceful holiday. The cottage was lovely. It was nice sitting in the garden, hearing nature and babbling water. Now it's back to reality feeling refreshed (Rachel). I really enjoyed it here. I love the cottage and the wild life. I especially enjoyed going to the beach since it is so close(Aaron)”

R Greenslade and grandson Aaron, Devon, Aug 2013

“We were as happy as Larry and as snug as a bug in a rug - and yes, we bought a nice book about English expressions! Somewhere we've read - Wales is there to set you free ... and this is exactly what happened. By the way the weather was too good to be true - a heatwave! It was our first time in Wales, and we enjoyed every minute of it! Thank you Nikki!”

Fabian and Dieuwke, Utrecht, the Netherlands, July, 2013

“We've enjoyed such a lovely all-to-short holiday here (our 3rd visit) and it never fails to deliver. We'll be back!”

Herb and Isobel Popplestone, Somerset. 24th-27th June, 2013.

“A short but very pleasant weekend away with the dogs. Really enjoyed the cottage, it's so quiet and peaceful. Ned and George (the donkeys) introduced themselves shortly after we arrived and after some initial concerns the dogs were always looking for them. Thanks for a great weekend.”

Mike and Gill Dowell, Mole and Bear (Their dogs). 21st-24th June, 2013

“Wonderful location, peace and quiet with only nature making a noise. Donkeys, woodpeckers and squirrel all a bonus. Bed wonderful and comfy. Fantastic walks. Dewi, our Chessapeake, was in heaven. What a wonderful little piece of heaven. Many thanks.”

Bob and Mags and Dewi, Chepstow, Monmouthshire, June, 2013

“We normally have a perfect break at the Bothy - but someone got in first, so here we are in the Cottage. What a wonderful spot, so different from the Bothy but as usual up to Nikki's very high standards. All regular visitors give it a try - you won't regret it!!”

Pam and Donald, Cheltenham. 24th-27th May, 2013.

“We have had a wonderful holiday here in this lovely cosy cottage. The weather has been very kind to us only rain on the last day. It is so peaceful here, so different from where we live. It has been a real tonic. A lovely area with lovely walks. The dog has been in heaven. Thank you.”

Bob and Linda and their Swedish hound, Inga from Kent.

“Squirrels, a log burner, Pierce and the sheep,
fishing and walking and long cuddly sleeps.
Sunshine and blue tits, a donkey called Ned,
jigsaws to ponder and books to be read.
The babbling river and birds in the sky,
primroses smiling and peace you can't buy.
Cockerels and bunnies and birds in the trees,
geese on the water and joy on the breeze.
The arrival of George, the sun on your face,
Ty Crug is a magical, wonderful place! ”

Dave and Gina and Jingles the dog from Merseyside

“Thank you, what a wonderful place, it reminds me of a Walt Disney Cottage where it is surrounded by trees and animals - wonderful. We had a relaxing and quiet 2 weeks, I wish we could have stayed longer. You have a beautiful place and have been the best hostess ever. We hope we can come again.”

Jenny and Phil. 12 October 2012

“Nikki, we envy you your perfect surroundings and we thank you for the pure quality you provide, our stay has been absolute bliss.”

Chris and Ellie, Yorkshire. 21 September 2012

“A lovely week in a lovely cottage away from it all. Have loved discovering the local area - beautiful countryside, the National Botanic Gardens, Laugharne, the Coastal Path at Llansteffan, Aberglasney Gardens. Have enjoyed meeting Ned the donkey! Many thanks for our welcome tray and a lovely holiday.”

Barbara, Roger and Nora, West Midlands. 31 August 2012

“We have had a good holiday in this lovely, cosy cottage with its beautiful surroundings. We visited Tenby, St Andrews and the Brecon Beacons. The donkey, Ned, loves carrots and a big hug, we will miss him.”

Christine, Belgium. 24 August 2012

“We have been blown away by this beautiful cottage and surroundings - the pictures on the website promised a pretty cottage, but discovering the whole area has been a wonderful experience. The peace and seclusion offered by this place has been a welcome tonic!”

Luke and Ellie, Lancs. 10 August 2012

“Arrived at this lovely cottage without any problems. We expected a bad week of weather but we had only one wet day. Our last day was spent down at Pembrey - what a lovely beach with the forest to walk through. Look forward to another visit there. National Trust, Dolaucothi Estate walk was most enjoyable, as well as Brechfa Forest, Millennium Walk and a visit to the Gower. Lots of wildlife to see out and about as well as at the cottage.”

Mike, Lynn & Kyla, East Grinstead. July 2012

“We were very happy when we saw the cottage and the tea, flowers etc, was most kind. What an enjoyable and relaxing week we have had. Great trips out all over Pembrokeshire and the weather has stayed on our side, it only rained one afternoon. We have both been delighted with all the wildlife at the cottage and on our trips out - we loved seeing the Red Kites. Thank you for a most enjoyable week here.”

Tim & Dawn, Southampton, June 2012

“We have really enjoyed our 2 weeks here and the weather has been very good, especially this second week... You don't have to go far to get some good walks, Brechfa Forest, Millennium Coastal Park, Gold mines etc. and there are some good park centres in the Brecon Beacons. We have also enjoyed watching the different birds and squirrels on the bird table and watching the stars on a clear night.”

Martin & Gemma, West Yorkshire. May 2012

“Had a lovely relaxing week in the cottage, plenty of nice walks. Enjoyed the cosy fire. Had a fantastic meal at the Whitemill, in Whitemill on the A40 towards Carmarthen - can highly recommend it.”

Doreen & Richard, Stoke-on-Trent. May 2012

“We have had a lovely holiday in this charming cottage. Have slept like babies and truly relaxed in this pretty flower-speckled valley. Had a lovely food in The Black Lion, Abergorlech.”

Mr & Mrs Brooks, Exeter, April 2012