Reviews marked 'Feedback' were left by guests via the West Wales Holiday Cottages feedback form and then submitted by the owner. Any other comments were sent in by the owner from the property's visitor book.

“Wonderful place run by lovely people. Will definitely book again, well appointed comfortable peaceful cannot recommend it enough. Can’t wait to go back.

Also extremely Covid safe if anyone was concerned,

Simply brilliant!”

Feedback - Aug 2021

“Our holiday at the barn was fantastic! We went with our three adult children and we were all very impressed with the property as well as the communications with Jacqueline, the owner. She was always prompt with any queries, including replacing a smoke alarm battery while we were there. Given the Covid restrictions, we felt very safe in the barn, knowing that all had been done to keep it clean etc. The property is well located for walking, visiting the beach and local amenities. While there, we climbed hills, visited Dinefwr Castle, Pengelli Forest, Pembrey Country Park and Talley Abbey. We will be recommending the property to our friends.”

Feedback - Jul 2021

“Lovely accommodation and owners always available if required. Even offered to babysit our dog if we went out. Highly recommended.”

Feedback - Jul 2021

“Lovely quiet cottage with enclosed garden for the dogs.
Ideal place to recharge the batteries.”

Feedback - Jul 2021

“Gilfach Barn is a perfect escape from it all. Far reaching views, plenty of external areas to sit and enjoy the gardens which have a brilliant re-wilding feel to them,.
The barn is very spacious, well equipped and was a great base for exploring the numerous sights available from little villages, the coast paths, magnificent gardens, national trust properties and more.
We throughly enjoyed our stay despite getting more grey and rain than we hopped for in July.”

Feedback - Jul 2021

“What a truly lovely stay we have just had at Gilfach Barn. It is a stunning property with absolutely everything you need for a holiday in a ‘home away from home’. Set in a very peaceful and secluded spot with far reaching views it is ideal for getting away from it all but in easy reach by car of the best that South Wales (and beyond) has to offer.
Jac is a fantastic host (sadly we didn’t get to meet her and Keith due to COVID restrictions - they were just next door if we had needed them in an emergency) and her communication prior to and during our stay was great. We would highly recommend staying here - one of the best holiday homes we’ve stayed in! Thank you Jac and Keith 😊”

Feedback - Jun 2021

“Absolutely loved it barn was immaculate really peaceful lovely location Jacqueline was a wonderful host and communication was excellent our every need was catered for cannot wait to return a real gem highly reccomend”

Feedback - Jun 2021

“We had a very enjoyable stay, our first stay inland, we normally have coastal holidays. We have never stayed somewhere so relaxing, it was a holiday where we had to force ourselves to go out. The drive down the track to the barn was special in itself, couple of minute drive especially seeing the goldfinches in the hedgerows, so bright and colourful. It was so quiet just listening to the birds watching the red kites and buzzards, reading and having a relaxing garden. We shall certainly come back again.”

Clive & Julie, June 2021

“What a wonderful place to stay and the owners were only at the end of a phone to sort out any problems if you had any - not that we did and we were very impressed overall”

Feedback - Sep 2020

“We had a wonderful week at Gilfach Barn. The property is beautiful and perfect for exploring the many wonderful beaches and towns nearby. Despite the difficulties of the current climate Jacqueline made our stay perfect and her communication was impeccable and reassuring. Thank you!”

Feedback - Aug 2020

“The barn was a wonderful and different place to stay for a compete getaway from regular life. It was so peaceful sitting watching the swallows and house martins from the decking in the evening.
The main lounge was massive and swallowed our party of 5 with ease and in comfort.
The owner, Jacqueline was in touch throughout our stay to help with anything.”

Feedback - Jul 2020

“We had a fantastic family holiday at Gilfach Barn. We visited with our 2 teenage children and our dog who all loved it.
The barn itself is very well equipped with VERY comfortable beds and wonderful decor throughout. It is so quiet and We found it to be a true escape to see wonderful wildlife and the beautiful night sky.
It is Ideally situated to explore the many beautiful beaches.
We didn’t want to leave!!”

Feedback - Jul 2020

“What an amazing place to stay. Beautiful accommodation set in lovely gardens in the countryside. Not too far from lots of villages, towns and a wonderful coast line. Really enjoyed our visit to nearby Cardigan and New Quay. We would definitely recommend Gilfach Barn to anyone.”

Feedback - Aug 2019

“Very friendly welcome , The Barn’s location was fantastic.
It was just heaven no traffic noise in fact no noise at all
The furniture and beds where top quality it was very clean and presentable .
It had the feel and atmosphere any good Barn should have .
A real get away from it all place
Cant wait to book again for next year ..”

Feedback - Aug 2019

“We have had a fantastic week ! Thank you for the wine and chocolates and for thinking of everything to make our stay perfect. We loved the Barn so much we spent two days just chilling - nothing better - We will be back !! Loved Penbryn beach for swimming, New Quay for ice cream and dolphin watching. Ship Inn at Tresaith for dig friendly pub with great food”

Andy, Karen,Aimee,Ellie ans Scout the dog, Aug 2019

“Fantastic week had by all at Gilfach Barn! We felt very comfortable and were made to feel really welcome by the hosts. The barn itself is beautiful and the surrounding area equally so.
Thank you for making our family holiday so memorable, 100% recommend”

Feedback - Aug 2019

“Beautiful cottage, very peaceful and tranquil, with lovely views. Fantastic place to just relax and enjoy the setting. Beautifully furnished with great little touches,like the fairy lights everywhere. Jacqueline and Keith the owners left us to our own devices, which we loved, but were on hand if we needed anything, and their pre and post holiday communication was excellent . Would highly recommend and hope to stay there again soon”

Feedback - Jul 2019

“It was an absolute pleasure staying at the beautiful Gilfach Barn, not only did we see the most amazing views right from the doorstep, we had all our needs accommodated for even those we didn't anticipate ! you are absolute magicians!! We have never stayed so close to nature and it's been the most revitalising and relaxing week because of your care to detail,thoughtfulness and in no small part your beautiful interior design- so thank you very much for making this week spectacular.”

Iqbal family, July 2019

“What a stunning barn .Love all the little touches and attention to detail, beautiful flowers and wine and chocolates to boot. What a welcome. The first time we walked in we were amazed, this place is gorgeous. Every thing you need Jackie and Keith have thought of of it all Even for the dogs, towels,food bowls and poo bags .Brilliant ! We have stayed in many places, but this barn tops the lot. The dogs loved the garden,and we had no worries about them escaping. We would have had a BBQ if the weather was better so we took advantage of the lovely cosy fire instead. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay in the barn . we would recommend this place in a heart beat.”

Terri ,Kaz Sam and John. Patchy boy and Sammy boy Parker.r., July 2019

“We had such a lovely relaxing time in the barn. Everything we needed was catered for. Dogs loved having the garden to root about in. Local villages were lovely and you must try Moriath glass and the woolen mill. Didn't want to leave. All the best”

Kathy,Barb and the dogs, July 2019

“We had a beautiful holiday in the Barn. Everything was provided for our stay and the owners were thoughtful enough to provide dish washer and washing machine products. There was even a welcome gift. The Barn was clean and very comfortable. We spent many an hour in the evening watching swallows and other birds from the deck. The garden was fully fenced and the dogs enjoyed their stay.”

Feedback - Jun 2019

“Wonderful stay in this beautiful barn, really quiet and great time to simply relax and be !! Great detail in all the useful things around the barn, just like home from home. Weater usual summer, but great things to do in sun or rain- lovely walking, pretty villages to visit. and the railway is a must !”

Dave and Lou Lou, June 2019

“Had a wonderful, peaceful relaxing 2 weeks. Gilfach Barn is beautiful and we would happily return. Wine and chocolates were lovely so were the flowers in the barn and the beautiful garden.”

Nigel and Terry, May 2019

“Wonderful tranquil holiday!”

Feedback - May 2019

“Wonderful half term break for a week. Accommodation stunning, location amazing and coastline fantastic. We all thoroughly enjoyed a peaceful relaxing week with lovely fires and the most comfortable beds. Will definitely be back ....... Thank you Jac and Keith for making it a home from home.”

Rhys,Clare Euan. Daisy and Betty, May 2019

“This place was fantastic. The location. Views, homely, what more can I say. I took an elderly well behaved dog however I would not recommend this for a escape artist because of the live stock nearby. Everything was clean, it was huge. Nearby Carmarthen has a very good selection of shops and New Quay is a must for a visit. The owners do live here but they are very nice and not intrusive at all. Five star holiday ”

Feedback - Mar 2019

“Dear Jacqui and Keith
We had an absolutely lovely week in your beautiful property, Gilfach. The house was so well equipped, beautifully decorated and furnished and the welcome was warm. We all slept so well in the comfortable beds!
We spent quite a few days on the beaches as we have three children - about half an hour's drive to Tresaith and Poppit Sands. We also enjoyed wandering around the shops in nearby Camarthen and had a lovely meal out at The Wellington in Newquay. The honey farm at Newquay is always a nice place to visit and has a tea room. We loved coming back to Gilfach at the end of the day and were almost relieved to get a rainy morning where we could just relax at Gilfach - enjoy the beautiful sitting room and do some of the puzzles and board games that were provided.
We would thoroughly recommend this holiday property to others and would definitely come back again!

Many thanks
The Jones family (Somerset) August 2018”

Feedback - Aug 2018

“July 2018, we had a wonderful, relaxing holiday at Gilfach Barn and enjoyed exploring South West Wales. The Barn is very well equipped and comfortable - lots of space for the family to enjoy, inside and out. We were lucky with the weather and so spent most days on a beach. Favourites nearby included New Quay, Aberporth, Tresaith and Poppit Sands. To the south we loved Pendine, Saundersfoot and Tenby. Taking the boat trip to Caldey Island is highly recommended. We took a trip to the National Showcaves Centre - spectacular and well worth a visit. Jacqueline and Keith are great hosts - and the Barn has so many special features and comforts. Our first family holiday in Wales and one that will never be forgotten. Staying at Gilfach Barn made it extra special. Thank you. Carol, Steve and the boys - Scotland.”

Feedback - Jul 2018

“We had a fantastic stay at Gilfach Barn. The house was beautiful, fantastic location with great views & a few good wildlife spots. Also an amazing view of the night sky, we'd never seen so many stars! The owners were very welcoming and the barn had its own private garden & driveway which was brilliant. The house had everything we could have asked for & we'd thoroughly recommend it for anyone looking for a holiday base in the area!”

Feedback - Sep 2017

“The important thing about Holidays are that you make happy memories to take back home.
This lovely converted barn and West Wales gave our family tons.
We will never forget the excitement of the children exploring the place for the first time, them pretending to be stars walking down the spiral stairs and performing dance routines for us in the 'theatre of a lounge'.
Watching the wildlife outside cultivated by the owners. A mass of butterflies, swifts wrens, bats, ginger cat and friendly chicken and their delicious eggs.
We enjoyed the roaring log fire in the evening.
Central location for touring. We particularly liked Cardigan try fantastic unusual wigwamed Pizza place by river. We all loved Aberporth for a day at beach.
My wife and I, and daughter with two grandchildren 4 and 11 years really enjoyed our stay and will back.
Many thanks to the perfect hosts Jackelin and Keith.”

Feedback - Aug 2017

“Gilfach Barn is simply a piece of decorative perfection, along with every piece of equipment you could ever possibly need for your holiday, from matches and first aid kids to candles and fairly lights in every room!”

Feedback - Jul 2017

“A lovely place to stay for a quiet and relaxed holiday in abeautiful area. Owners were very welcoming with some lovely special touches! The barn was really well equipped with everything we needed and more. Highly recommended!”

Feedback - Jul 2017

“Well equipped accommodation in a lovely setting. Very peaceful location and a relaxing holiday area. The area feels so calm and the roads easy to navigate”

Feedback - Jul 2017

“We booked this cottage at the very last minute and the owners managed to have the place ready for us in time which we appreciated. It is approached down a long lane across a field which gave a lovely feeling of being away from it all. The barn is a lovely quirky conversion and was comfortable and interesting to stay in. Everything we needed was on hand and I have no doubt the friendly owners in the house next door would have found us anything else had we needed it. It's the kind of house that you could happily stay in for a whole week just relaxing and enjoying.”

Beavan family, May 2017

“Gilfach barn more than lived up to our expectations and it provided everything that we could possibly have needed. The barn was beautifully clean, the beds were extremely comfortable, which is a real bonus in a holiday home. The flowers that were so beautifully arranged in all of the rooms were a special treat. Fresh chicken's eggs were on the menu every morning, which were delicious. The welcome gifts were a nice surprise, especially the chocolates. Having a roaring fire in the evenings was most relaxing it provided a wonderful atmosphere. The barn is situated in a wonderful setting, very peaceful and a good place to get away from it all. It was a really good location, enabling us to explore many different parts of West Wales, in particular we enjoyed visiting Poppit Sands, Newport Sands and Penbryn. Both Jacqueline and Keith were extremely friendly and made us feel very welcome, whilst respecting our privacy. We would strongly recommend this holiday accommodation, which far exceeds a 5 star rating. We would not hesitate to return.”

Feedback - Apr 2016

“This was are second visit and we couldn't of asked for more everything was brilliant and from the moment we got there to the moment we left Keith and jac made us more than welcome we would highly recommend staying at Gilfach barn to anyone”

Feedback - Oct 2015

“Thank you for a fantastic relaxing stay in your beautiful barn! We loved sitting in the sunny conservatory in the morning and then having a cosy log fire in the evenings, Beautiful furnishings and everything we needed to make it more than a home from home. Your friendly welcome, help whenever we needed it, and the lovely touches of the supplies (especially the free range eggs!) and the wine and chocolates were a lovely idea. We would definitely recommend you to people who want to get away from it all, but be near enough things to have plenty to do! Thank you.”

Sue and Ian, September 2015

“We had a great time. The barn was lovely. Very nicely furnished and decorated with lots of space. Highly recommended.”

Feedback - Aug 2015

“I just wanted to write a quick note to say thank you for a lovely stay at the barn. Its a lovely place and very relaxing. We've stayed at quite a few cottages/barns and this was one of the best we've seen. Everything has been thought of!
The weather wasnt the greatest, but we found this didnt matter as much as normal as the barn was such a nice place to be.”

Feedback - Aug 2015

“We have had a great stay in this lovely holiday home. Jackie and Keith have been fantastic! There is a lot to do in the surrounding area and have never been at a loose end.”

Andy, and family, August 2015

“Gilfach Barn is an extraordinary place in a beautiful location in a wonderful part of the country, with so much to see and do, within easy reach. Hosts, Jackie and Keith are extremely helpful and welcoming. We are definitely hoping to return.”

Feedback - May 2015

“We recently visited Gilfach Barn and from the moment we arrived the owners made us very welcome. The barn was beautifully converted to a high standard with everything that you could need for you're holiday. The views from the garden and decked area are beautiful And peaceful. We will be re-visiting again because its such a lovely place to go and relax and see some wonderful sights. We would highly recommend Gilfach Barn and we give it 5 out of 5 ”

Chris and Sophie, April 2015