Reviews marked 'Feedback' were left by guests via the West Wales Holiday Cottages feedback form and then submitted by the owner. Any other comments were sent in by the owner from the property's visitor book.

“Hot tub, well equipped, flowers on arrival, welcoming and friendly, lovely environment with land, animals etc. Very dog friendly. We all feel we’d like to be staying longer so that must be good!”

July 2019

“We have had a wonderful week at Elmtree Cottage. It was perfect for our extended family of 8 ranging in age from 18 to 93. The cottage was equipped with everything we could possibly need and more! Ian and Hayley are the perfect hosts always happy to chat and answer our questions at any time. We loved the animals and visited them daily on our walk around the farm. Our particular favourites were the kune kune pigs who always ran to greet us and of course the adorable kittens. We also enjoyed exploring the local area. The location is convenient for Cardigan where we visited the castle and town. We visited the seaside town of New Quay and Lllangranog Beach – great fish and chips in New Quay and superb icecreams at Llangranog and both lovely to visit. We can also recommend the Indian on the boat in Cardigan harbour and the Ferry Inn for eating out. Thank you Ian and Hayley for providing this great home from home. We wold love to come back again. We hope the sheep eventually get shorn and good luck with your spinning Hayley. PS forgot to mention the brilliant Hot Tub which we all made great use of throughout our stay.”

The Southern and Heard Family. July 2019

“A beautiful peaceful location with a lovely walk around the farm”

Feedback - Jul 2019

“Elmtree cottage.
We had a lovely time as a family celebrating my partners 60th birthday
The cottage was spacious, clean-and well equipped to accommodate us as a family
The children and dogs loved walking around the farm
Well situated for the beautiful beaches within a short drive
Many Thanks
The Fletcher-Buhler family”

Feedback - Jun 2019

“We have had a lovely week at Elmtree Cottage. The cottage was very spacious, very clean and we had everything and more than we needed. Beautiful grounds and the animals made it even better. Watching the birds feed in the garden was amazing. We visited some beautiful beaches and went on a boat where we saw the puffins, seals and lots more. Thank you for the welcome pack and for an amazing week. The hot tub was also a bonus. Thankyou – we have loved it all.”

Rebecca, Lex, Philip, Natalie, Lorraine, June 2019

“We’ve had a lovely holiday here. It was great to have somewhere all the family could be together including the dogs. There was everything we needed and the icing on the cake – the hot tub. Loved walking through the fields to see the animals and the log fire on the cooler evenings whilst we all played games from the great selection. Thank you very much. We most certainly hope to come again.”

The Griffiths Family Benson & Perdi. June 2019

“Really enjoyed our holiday everything was great except the weather but that didn’t matter.

Hope to do it all again soon.”

Feedback - Jun 2019

“We had a wonderful time at owl farm , we stayed in elm cottage which was lovely .
It also has a hot tub which was great after being out on walks with our dogs.
The cottage has everything that you need so well equipped. The location is also great so many places to visit all within 30 minutes drive, wonderful beaches.
It was great to be able to walk round the farm and meet all the animals( we had cuddles with Duncan the lamb ) gorgeous.
Ian and Hayley were really nice and friendly more than happy to introduce us to some of the animals even thou they were always working on the farm they never stop .
Enjoyed it so much already booked up for next year.”

Feedback - Apr 2019

“Thank you for a lovely holiday. The cottage was perfect for our large family and three dogs. It was lovely to have so much space, with a great enclosed garden for the dogs and children. The hot tub was enjoyed a lot by the children and adults. A great way to finish of the day! Ian and Hayley were really friendly and were more than happy to show us all the wonderful animals on the farm. We had a fantastic lunch at The Nag’s Head in Abercych. Great food and very dog friendly. We would love to come back to Elmtree Cottage.”

The Harvey Family Milo, Devon & Bryn, April 2019

“We had a lovely stay. Owners were very friendly and we loved learning about the farm and meeting the animals. Great enclosed garden for our 2 dogs. Hot tub was fantastic and well maintained. Great location too.”

Feedback - Apr 2019

“Lovely cottage with friendly and welcoming owners. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the added bonus of having a hot tub and being able to visit the farm animals really added to an already wonderful experience.”

Feedback - Mar 2019

“Thank you for a lovely stay! The cottage was wonderfully comfortable and well equipped. We loved the hot tub and log burner! It was a real treat to visit the animals and we are already planning a return visit.”

March 2019

“For a family break the kitchen area with large table provided the perfect gathering point. The hot tub proved a massive success. The cottage was overall a great success. The little petting visit was the highlight of the grandkids visit and for the adults! Perfect break, perfect stay, we’ll be back!”

Feb 2019

“To Hayley and Ian, We would like to thank you for a great week here in Elmtree Cottage. The location is amazing. We have all felt refreshed and relaxed and enjoyed discovering more and more of the farm with evening walks. The welcome pack was a lovely touch, and we’ve had a lovely family holiday. The hot tub will be especially missed of an evening. It was great that we could come on holiday with our family dog ‘Poppy’ . She has loved all the space to explore. Thanks again.”

The Nightingalls & Poppy. September 2018

“Thanks for a great place and surroundings. Really enjoyed our stay & the hot tub went down a treat. Many thanks,”

Mark, Liz & Gang. September 2017

“To Hayley and Ian, It has been a joy to stay in your cottage because the beds were really comfortable! The hot tub was nice and relaxing and my favourite animals on your farm was Bo and Lexi! Phoebe aged 11.
Thanks for a wonderful stay on your lovely farm. We particularly enjoyed having the ability to roam freely and meet all the animals. Phoebe is already begging to come back next year!”

The Shergolds & friends, Aug 2018

“Had a brilliant time at Owl Farm. The kids loved being able to explore and see the animals every day. Great hosts and great location too, highly recommend and hope to return ourselves someday”

Feedback - Aug 2018

“Great cottage in a great location. Owners were very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend this cottage for a holiday.”

Feedback - Aug 2018

“We had a very enjoyable stay. Nine of us and two dogs, but there was plenty of room and the house was comfortable. The grandchildren enjoyed the animals and so did the adults. Thank you for being so helpful and obliging if we requested anything.”

Alan & Liz Morris & Family. July 2018

“Lovely cottage in beautiful countryside. Great walks for the dogs around the farm.”

Feedback - Jul 2018

“Thank you for a wonderful break at Elmtree Cottage. The cottage was very clean, spacious & well equipped and had everything we needed. The hot tub was such a luxury, we loved it! The land and fields around were fantastic to walk the dogs and the kids loved seeing the farm animals. Everything was well kept and thought out, the games and cards were brilliant too – thank you! I’m sure we will be back again soon! Thank you!”

Rees/Phillips/Stretton families, July 2018

“Thank you for a great stay in Elmtree Cottage. We had a really fun time. Thanks to the owners for being attentive and helpful. We were glad our dogs could come too, they loved it. The countryside around the cottage is nice for walking the dogs, and its great having sheep, alpacas and goats nearby in the fields. We loved having a hot tub, so much fun”

McFamily, June 2018

“Thank you for a wonderful stay. We are new to West Wales but will be back. The facilities are well thought out and attention to detail, like bird feeders, every kitchen implement you could think of are a welcome chance from the ‘norm’ of holiday rentals. The farm is amazing and we will watch facebook with interest as you grow into this lovely place. The hot tub really is the icing on the cake and lovely after trekking up and down the beautiful countryside and coastal Wales.”

Jacquie & John Marion & Colin Millie & Archie (dogs). June 2018

“Fabulous cottage in fabulous place...”

Feedback - Jun 2018

“Another lovely stay at Owl Farm! Its been wonderful to see all the work you ‘talked’ about 18 months ago – and has now come to fruition….and even more plans for the future! Thank you for your hospitality and ‘patience’ with the young ones. All very much appreciated. Wishing all the best!”

The Bryson/Billington families, June 2018

“This was our third visit and what Ian and Hayley have achieved since our last visit is amazing. Certainly, my grandchildren would love to go back again (a) because
the animals and (b) because of the facilities in the area.”

Feedback - May 2018

“We all enjoyed our stay. Farm dog walk very handy and pleasant. Poppit Beach absolutely amazing for dogs and very friendly people.. Cottage clean, comfortable and well equipped with very friendly and helpful hosts.”

Feedback - May 2018

“Really lovely place to be – really well thought out and perfect for the dogs. Thank you.”

April 2018

“Ian and Haley are very friendly and accommodating. Very quiet surrounding's.”

Feedback - Mar 2018

“We had a great Christmas break at Elmtree Cottage. The owners are lovely and very helpful. Beds are really comfortable, and the linen provided was good. The wood-burning stove in the living room and the outdoor hot tub are very nice touches. The situation of the cottages is beautiful - so many birds, as well as all the animals on the farm. You feel as though you are in the middle of nowhere, but supermarkets etc are in easy reach. I would highly recommend Elmtree and Owl Farm generally for a family break.”

Feedback - Dec 2017

“We had a lovely stay – in such a great location with lots to do. Nolton Stables is a great day out and the Llandysul Paddlers.We saw dolphins and seals in the bay – Mwnt beach is a must! Dogs happy with the great walks too!”

The Daveys, Parrys & Hansens, Oct 2017

“We had a peaceful holiday and we used the hot tub everyday . The fields and animals around the cottage enhanced our stay . The owners were helpful and the cottage is in a great location for a range of activities .”

Feedback - Oct 2017

“Ian and Hayley are excellent hosts to their farm adding value, information and friendship to the stay. The location is perfect with the owls making a nightly display when seen whilst having a hot tub at twilight.

The cottage wa cosy, well equipped and comfortable.”

Feedback - Aug 2017

“Lovely to be ‘in’ the countryside, relaxing and stress free. Thoroughly enjoyed the peace and tranquillity whilst exploring our surroundings and area. The cottage was comfy and allowed us all to enjoy our stay and to be TOGETHER enjoying life. The hot tub was a boon. We were visited by the owls and enjoyed seeing them as we relaxed in the tub in the evening. We were as happy as the children in it. Hayley made the stay, works hard and never stops but has time to spare to chat. Many thanks for a lovely week.”

Bill & Sylvia plus Saffy, and family. August 2017

“An excellent location for a family get together .The hot tub was the icing on the cake the whole family enjoyed .Owners were attentive and always on hand to to answer questions and offer guidance.”

Feedback - Aug 2017

“Very nice cottage in perfect grounds. The children enjoyed walking (running) in the fields and seeing the animals. Hayley and Ian are very accommodating and ready to help. Days out – Cilgerran Wildlife Park has lovely walks and a very good café. Folly Farm well worth the 40 mins drive. Kids loved it there.”

Evans, Stephen & Partridge Family, August 2017

“Thank you so much for letting me and my family stay here. I really enjoyed my stay. The cottage was very cosy and homely, just enough room for all of us! I really liked the fact that right outside there were very friendly horses and goats. I think it is great that they are friendly and so are you! Thank you so much. Lucy & the Bell Family xx
Thank you for letting us stay here. I enjoyed every moment. The cottage was cosy and lovely, just enough room for all of us. I really enjoyed the surroundings with all the animals to see. I loved the goats especially. I definitely want to come back! Thanks a lot.”

Holly and the Augustinus family, Aug 2017

“Thank you for a lovely stay. Loved the cottage & we all enjoyed going for walks through the fields after our dinner. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.”

The Wises & Buttells. August 2017

“We had a fabulous week here and would love to come back again.
The cottage was very comfortable and clean and homely. There was a lovely welcome pack of teabags, milk, cake and fresh flowers for our arrival.
The farm was fab with lots of interesting animals which Hayley gave us lots of facts and info about. The kids loved going visiting the animals every day.
Location wise it was perfect for travelling to the many beaches and walks that we had planned.
Highly recommend a stay here.”

Feedback - Jul 2017

“Excellent local beaches especially Poppit Sands and Mwnd.

At Cardigan Island Coastal Farm Park, Gwbert there is a good change you may see seals and dolphins in the seas below the clifftop.”

Feedback - Jul 2017

“We really enjoyed our stay. We especially enjoyed playing in the hot tub. The beds were really comfy and we all had good night’s sleep. Thank you so much for our wonderful stay.”

Lois, Grace, Ava, Nick, Aimee, Billy, Sandy, Gareth and Kelly. June 2017

“This is our second stay, 2 families, total of 10, the accommodation is very good, clean and ideal for our size, the owners are very hospitable and where busy working on improvements to the Farm. From this location we have everything we need, beaches, Castles, walking, family parks etc, we will be booking again.”

Feedback - May 2017

“What a wonderful find the cottage was!! We have all had a lovely relaxing stay with everything anyone could possibly need. The beaches are so beautiful. We will be back!!”

The Howell family & Andrew xx, May

“Thank you so much for a lovely week here. Nice to arrive to milk tea and coffee. The cottage was clean and tidy. Everyone was nice and welcoming. The kids didn’t want to leave. They enjoyed walking in the fields and looking at the animals. We would love to come back soon for a visit. Blue lagoon was fantastic. 10/10”

March 2017

“Thank you for your hospitality. We all enjoyed our break here giving us quality time together in our busy lives. Great location and so convenient to so many great places to walk the dogs – they slept well! We hope to return. Many thanks,”

Hughe/Jones clan, Nel, Jac and Jazz

“Ideal location for exploring ceredigion / pembrokeshire coast. Plenty of room for everyone and the 3 dogs. Thabk you Ian and Hayley for your hospitality.”

Feedback - Feb 2017

“A wonderful birthday surprise. My sister and Dad (Beth and Big Paul) organised this lovely weekend away with other halves and our four legged friends. Wales is a very sentimental part of the world for myself, sister and dad – beautiful, fresh, relaxing and green. The cottage was the perfect place to spend some quality time with all! Thank you for creating this wonderful getaway!”

Em, Beth, Paul, Matt, James, Roscoe, Kim & Bailey, January 2017

“Had a fantastic stay celebrating our Dad’s 80th birthday and New Year. Will definitely return. Happy 2017.”

The Palmers/Moyles/Roberts & Co. Dec 2016

“Had a really great time at Elmtree cottage. Booking and communication with owners excellent from start to finish. Lovely cottage with everything you could possibly need for your stay. In a great location, just a short drive from cardigan town and nearby beaches. Would definitely return and recommend to others. Thank you”

Feedback - Dec 2016

“The cottage is in an excellent location only a short drive to Cardigan and many beaches. It is spacious and was fully equipped, so no need to take anything in that regard. Owners were very helpful with advice on walks etc.”

Feedback - Dec 2016

“The property is ideally situated to explore both the northern Pembroke coastline and the cardigan area. The 48 acres to roam through with the dogs was great especially at dusk hearing the owls. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the farm”

Feedback - Aug 2016

“The cottage is comfortable and we have had a lovely week here in this beautiful part of Wales. Thank you and good luck with this new venture.”

Brigette and Paul Brogden

“Enjoyed our week. Comfortable. Beautiful area. We wish you all our best wishes for your new venture. Will look forward to returning in the future.”

The Rigby Family, August 2016

“Had a lovely week here. The cottage was nice and clean. We took the dog to Poppit Sands and the Welsh Wildlife Park. Also had a lovely walk around Cwm Gwaun and there was a cute little tea room. Dog loved playing on the beach and walking along the coastal path. All the best.”

Lisa, Andy, Jess, Josh, Emily, Riley and Maxy the dog.

“The Goodman family had a great time here, very comfortable cottage. Dogs had a wonderful time and there were lots of dog-friendly places to visit. Look forward to coming back and seeing what changes you make as you improve the cottages. Thank you for a lovely week.”

The Goodman family

“Had a fantastic week, really enjoyed exploring the coastline – we did some amazing coastal walks and found some beautiful beaches. Thank you very much and good luck with your new venture!”

Venizale, Callan & Wright family. July 2016

“We did enjoy holidays here and want to thank you for your hospitality. The kids had a lot of fun welcoming the alpacas, stroking the horse Bo and Billy the goat, not to forget the dogs! We loved the nature and had some really relaxing days. Thanks a lot for that.”

Maren Von Duerckheim and family

“Had a great stay at the cottage and very fitting for our needs. Thank you.”

Feedback - Jul 2016

“great place to stay and explore, lots of space, there was 10 of us, so many beaches and walks to explore, loads for the kids to do, will be going back again. Brilliant!”

Feedback - Apr 2016

“We hired Elmtree Cottage and the Farmhouse to celebrate a friends 40th which was on New Years Eve. We had a great time. Elizabeth the caretaker was a star and very helpful, a credit to the owners.”

Feedback - Dec 2014

“What can I say – a fantastic holiday for my family. Beautiful surroundings, amazing beaches and the best weather – 20C+ all week. The house was fully equipped a home from home. The children loved the horses and goat. The eggs were the best we ever, ever had. We will be sad to go home, especially my 19 month old son as we had total freedom to roam on this wonderful farm. Plus child friendly beaches. Will definitely recommend this to friends and other family members. Hope to come back in the future. ”

May 2010

“Travelled from Bromsgrove to Pencraig Farm and was not disappointed. The house was just right with everything we needed. The boys loved the animals especially Dylan (three years old). In his element with the goat, horses and chickens. What a fantastic week, on the beach every day. Now the boys are sad to leave and go back to school. Would recommend the cottage to other Cardiffinians and Bromgrovians. Can’t wait for our next visit.”

April 2010

“We had fun, slightly dramatic due to the snow, holiday in this comfortable, clean and well equipped cottage. The surrounding area, particularly Aberporth and Tresaith is lovely. ”

New Year – January 2010

“We had a fun holiday in this comfortable, clean and well equipped cottage. The surrounding area, in particular Aberporth & Tresaith is lovely”

December 2009

“Great holiday. Fantastic cottage – very well equipped and maintained. Thank you”

August 2009

“Not enough time – will have to come back. Very welcoming, lovely cottage. Thank you”

August 2009

“We have had a great week. Accommodation very comfortable, lovely situation – especially looking out over the field with the horses. Cardigan is delightful and the coast breathtakingly beautiful. I was proud to present this beautiful part of Wales to my friends from Germany”

August 2009

“Thank you for a lovely fortnight – the weather was variable but didn’t restrict us at all. The cottage was excellent with everything that we needed to have a comfortable holiday. Thanks again”

May 2009