Reviews marked 'Feedback' were left by guests via the West Wales Holiday Cottages feedback form and then submitted by the owner. Any other comments were sent in by the owner from the property's visitor book.

“David and Clare, were fabulous hosts, welcoming and provided a lovely welcome pack. They had thought of everything to make sure we had a thoroughly comfortable and enjoyable stay. There was a plethora of useful information about attractions and places to visit, the most comprehensive information we have come across in our many years of using holiday cottages. The cottage is beautiful, well furnished and to a high standard. A fabulous stay.”

Feedback - Aug 2019

“We were greeted by very friendly owners who made us feel very welcome. The cottage was exactly like the pictures, as were the beautiful gardens. The kitchen was home from home and when the shepherds pie I was cooking was almost ruined (no stock cubes) Clare and David stepped in immediately (which was very much appreciated by our hungry pack). Beautiful place from which we were sad to leave. Would definitely recommend and I’m very fussy!”

Feedback - Jul 2019

“Could not have wished for anything more Claire and David very helpful and full of ideas beautiful setting and wish them both good luck on new venture, hope to stay again one day
Shara”

Feedback - Jul 2019

“My wife and I have stayed in lots of holiday cottages over the years, but without a doubt this cottage is up there with the best. The decor, equipment, cleanliness, location, the site itself all second to none. The owners David and Clare were great hosts, and nothing was to much trouble for them.”

Feedback - Jun 2019

“Excellent cottage, beautiful gardens and the owners were very friendly and helpful.”

Feedback - May 2019

“Amazing house in beautiful surroundings! A lot of thought, effort and care has gone into this brilliant holiday home by its wonderful owners. The house was homely, relaxing, full of quality furniture and gadgets and I think the cleanest property I have ever stayed at.
We had a fantastic stay, the property exceeded our expectations and we cannot wait to come again, massive thanks to David & Clare for a wonderful stay!”

Feedback - Oct 2018

“We all loved staying in Bwthyn Creigiau. From the moment we drove through the gate we all felt completely at home.The cottage is in a beautiful, peaceful setting surrounded by magnificent gardens and open countryside. The cottage is appointed to an extremely high standard, managing to be both spacious but warm and cosy. Clare and David have put an incredible amount of thought into their cottage to create a luxurious haven. It is an absolute pleasure to simply spend time there. The gardens around the cottage are amazing and there are several areas to sit and enjoy the view with a cup of tea or a glass of wine; we particularly enjoyed watching the swallows swoop to catch insects over the large pond. Clare and David were perfect hosts; they made us feel very welcome and had some great tips for places to eat or visit. I would like to thank them for the warmth they extended to both myself and my family. When we next plan to return to Carmarthenshire they will be the first people I contact.”

Feedback - Aug 2018

“Bwthyn Creigiau is a fantastic cottage, and probably the nicest we’ve stayed in. It was very spacious, clean and well equipped. The children loved playing with the games and puzzles provided, and playing and exploring outside in the beautiful gardens. One of our children is disabled and although he can manage without his wheelchair indoors, it was handy to have everything he needed on the ground floor. The cottage would be ideal for wheelchair users with the wet room and spacious twin bedroom downstairs.

There’s loads to do nearby - we visited the huge sandy beaches, castles, National Botanic Gardens, Llanelli wetland centre, Gwili steam train, Folly Farm, Colby Woodland Garden and Pembrey Country Park, most of which are within 30 mins drive from the cottage.”

Feedback - Aug 2018

“Lovely, top-notch cottage in secluded countryside, yet not far from the attractions of Carmarthenshire. The cottage and its gardens have a peacefulness to it, the property is well designed and is finished off with lots of extras, such as furnishings, artistic lamp fittings and interesting paintings. The beds and pillows are very comfy - a real treat. Clare and David were very welcoming and friendly hosts, always willing to have a chat and even arranging for us to purchase some freshly baked and very tasty cakes from their local bakery! Not to forget Monty their dog, a very soft and friendly Alsatian.
We would definitely recommend this cottage to everyone else - it deserves its 5-star rating!”

Feedback - Aug 2018

“We all had a great holiday in superb accommodation in a brilliant location. The property well deserves it's five star rating. The exterior and interior of the property are beautiful and the contents are all of excellent quality. The well maintained gardens are lovely and we really enjoyed sitting in the sensory garden watching the butterflies and bees. The owners are very friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them. I would strongly recommend this holiday accommodation.”

Feedback - Aug 2018

“A beautifully presented, spacious,comfortable, clean, well equipped cottage. The owners were really helpful taking great care to ensure that anyone with reduced mobility could relax and enjoy the cottage and it’s lovely gardens.”

Feedback - Jul 2018

“Our holidays in Bwthyn Creigiau could not have been more relaxing. Wonderful place to stay. Perfect to explore the region from the West Coast to the Brecon Beacons.
We like it very much.”

Feedback - Jun 2018

“We had a wonderful relaxing family holiday (2 adults and 2 children aged 10 and 12). The owners Claire and David were very welcoming and showed us around when we arrived. The accommodation was truly excellent - and we have stayed in a lot of different holiday homes. The attention to detail was superb - things like the paintings, cushions and rugs really added to the experience. Claire and David have obviously spent a lot of time and thought on the property. Their suggestions of places to visit during our stay were really useful. We loved the area; there is a lot to see and do within easy reach. Some of the beaches are breathtaking. We would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending the property for a holiday.”

Feedback - Mar 2018

“Our third visit to this beautiful cottage. Clare and David always make us welcome and provide fabulous facilities. Very highly recommended”

Feedback - Mar 2018

“This is a lovely quiet place to stay to explore the area. The owners are lovely and very helpful. The accommodation was spotless and of a high standard. I would love to go back in the summer.”

Feedback - Dec 2017

“The Cottage is excellent and certainly deserves the five star award it has achieved. The welcome received from the owner was superb and nothing was too much trouble for her. She even provided tea, coffee and cakes upon arrival and there were beautiful fresh flowers in a vase. We were also extremely pleased with loads of other unexpected extras provided. The cottage is situated in a quiet and peaceful location surrounded by lovely gardens. Although appearing to be in the middle of the countryside, minutes away is a lovely beach and plenty of shops. I strongly recommend this cottage.”

Feedback - Dec 2017

“We stayed a week at this beautiful cottage, although the weather was not very good, the house made up for that. We felt at home and missed absolutely nothing. I have no doubt to recommend it to you, who are searching now for a cottage!”

Feedback - Oct 2017

“We had a wonderful week in West Wales at the above property. Clare and David were very welcoming and made sure we had everything we needed. We were in the area to visit friends and family and travelling with 3 kids under 10 meant that we needed a good base where we could be comfortable yet still get out and about. I was training for a half-marathon and managed to find a nice (but muddy!) 5k circuit from the cottage door. We also went walking with our kids and took the time to drive to Llansteffan for a castle visit. All in all, plenty to see and do, but equally Bwthyn Creigiau was so cosy, we were happy to stay in where our schedule allowed. The only thing we'd change is that we should have booked two weeks, not one.”

Feedback - Oct 2017

“Lovely property, peaceful settings with beautiful gardens . Our two week family holiday was spent in a well equipped cottage that provided us with much needed space, access and facilities to accommodate the needs of our wheelchair dependent teenager. We were able to negotiate through the property with both his wheelchair and portable hoist and benefited from a very spacious wetroom. Whilst providing this much needed space the property did not compromise on the quality of decor and furnishings.
Outside the property all paths were suitable for wheelchair users and patio and garden area were well presented.
The owners Claire and David are friendly, helpful and considerate and were able to offer advice on great places to visit and eat and consciously ensured they made recommendations suitable to the needs of our wheelchair dependent teenager. A rare treat to find somewhere so accessible for our sons wheelchair and all his equipment. Thanks to our hosts for a wonderful holiday”

Feedback - Jul 2017

“Really enjoyed our stay at BWTHYN CREIGIAU.
Great cottage in lovely location.
Owners made us very welcome.
Mike Bellamy”

Feedback - Jul 2017

“For the second time we had a very comfortable stay at Bwthyn Creigiau. And we hope, it will not be the last one.”

Feedback - Jul 2017

“Although the weather was not good , the cottage was so comfortable that we were happy to stay in and wait for the rain to pass over. Claire and David made us feel very welcome and pointed out the best pubs and places to visit.”

Feedback - Jun 2017

“The owners have put much thought into ensuring their guests are comfortable and have everything they need . We received the of warmest of welcomes on arrival, with a lovely welcome pack.
The cottage is well-equiped, spotless and deserving of its 5 stars . A wonderful place from which to explore this beautiful area
We would definitely recommend and would like to visit again”

Feedback - Apr 2017

“We really enjoyed our stay here. A beautiful house with lots of space inside and out. Very well-equipped and furnished. Great for kids and my disabled mum. Friendly and helpful owners live next door made sure our stay was really comfortable. Thank you. We would definitely return.”

Feedback - Apr 2017

“Wow was the first word I said when I stepped inside and I continued to be wowed till the end of my stay.

This is without doubt a 5*+++ property

The owners are amazing, so welcoming and friendly without being intrusive, I would not hesitate to recommend this property.”

Feedback - Jan 2017

“It was the best little weekend away! The cottage was amazing and in such a lovely area. It was immaculate and had everything we could have asked for and more.
David and Claire went out of their way to make us feel welcome and provided us with some excellent tips of walks/pubs to visit.
It was the best way to welcome in 2017 and we would all love to visit again soon!!!”

Feedback - Dec 2016

“We had a wonderful Christmas holiday. The cottage exceeded our expectations in every way. David and Clare went out of their way to offer advice and information on the local area and to make us feel welcome.”

Feedback - Dec 2016

“We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bwthyn Creigiau. The cottage is fabulous, beautifully converted, warm and comfortable and really well equipped. David and Claire are great hosts, very helpful and friendly with plenty of recommendations for places to visit and eat. Would definitely recommend, and we're hoping to come back again in the summer to enjoy the beautiful garden.”

Feedback - Nov 2016

“What a wonderful place. David and Clare were both so lovely and helpful and the place was spotless. We had a really relaxing stay.”

Feedback - Nov 2016

“Being a keen cook I like cooking with quality equipment and nice sharp knives. This means that I usually have to take my own stuff with me when staying at holiday cottages because the quality of kitchen equipment can be, at best, sketchy. I was amazed by the quality and range of equipment available in the kitchen at this cottage, however. It made cooking there a real pleasure.
This level of finish was consistent throughout the cottage. Dave and Claire have kitted it out with real thought, love, care and quality. They genuinely want their guests to have an amazing holiday and have even produced two enormous folders of brochures to point guests in the right direction. They are very kind and very welcoming and have created a real gem. Get it booked - fast, it is not to be missed!”

Feedback - Oct 2016

“Fabulous cottage in superbly tranquil environment. Ground floor fully wheelchair accessible and disabled friendly. High quality furnishings and fittings and really helpful and accommodating owners on site. A real home from home and some!”

Feedback - Sep 2016

“Dave & Clare let us share a little bit of their heaven for a week and it was amazing, the cottage is more than perfect, sitting in beautiful & peaceful surroundings. Being able to relax in the garden and especially at night looking up at the stars without anything to distract us from the beauty was just breathtaking. The beach at Llansteffen is old world quaint, and the walk up to the castle although hard work was well worth the effort. So much to do in the surrounding area meant one week was just not enough. If you get the opportunity head to the Red Kite feeding Centre for a memory you will keep always. And the last bit of advice I can give when staying at this cottage, Just take time to walk in the garden and relax.”

Feedback - Sep 2016

“We (a familily with two boys of 13 and 16) stayed two weeks in Bwthyn Creigiau and we can say, we had wonderful holidays. The cottage was perfect: spacious, warm and cosy, quiet, very well equipped and beautifully decorated. Thanks to the owners, who always had the time for a nice talk or a good advice for an excursion. I hope we will come again some day.”

Feedback - Jul 2016

“This ideally situated cottage is surrounded by the most splendid gardens and set in the context of some of West Wales best countryside. You can feel totally cut off but are still a very short drive to good eating and even a huge supermarket if needed.

The cottage is equipped and furnished to the highest of standards and deserves its 5 Stars. The owners were at pains to ensure our stay was as comfortable as possible and the welcome was second to none.

Access to much of south-west Wales is within a one hour drive and in a very short time you can be enjoying the estuary at Llansteffan. For those able to walk, many more possibilities abound.”

Feedback - Jun 2016

“We have spent a wonderful week here ! What a charming and comfortable cottage, with everything you could need. The surroundings are lovely and the Vickridges are clearly taking great pride in caring for them - we enjoyed watching and listening to the birds tempted by the gardens. The cottage was great for us and the location meant you felt tucked away in the evenings, but other places are easily accessible for trips out. Our particular favourites were, The National Botanical Gardens, Folly Farm (fab day for the children) and Tenby with its picturesque beaches (we went on the train from Carmarthen - which was well enjoyed by the girls). Thanks again for a truly lovely stay - we hope to be back again!”

Thomas, Laura, Emily, Martha & Helen, March 2016

“An ideal base to discover a very lovely corner of West Wales. Our party consisted of 2 Brits and 3 French - everyone declared the cottage to be perfect. Beautiful renovation, generously equipped and an extremely welcoming host family.”

Feedback - Feb 2016

“You've thought of everything. Beautiful unspoilt area, lovely for kids. Laugharne, Llansteffan beach and castle, Colby gardens, chocolate factory, walks, rearranging gravel, the lovely lady in the independent clothes shop in Carmarthen who knew Dylan Thomas and everyone has been so friendly. We have loved it, thankyou”

Rebecca, Hilary, Albie & Rouben, Feb 2016

“Lovely conversion we thought it was really well equipped. Nothing we couldn't find or needed to buy, fabulous views and countryside, although we didn't get to see much due to being on an upholstery course all week ! Great that's it accessible I will definitely promote this. It felt like being at home, very comfortable”

Joyce and Margaret, Jan 2016

“What a wonderful place to celebrate the new year ! great accommodation and facilities and a perfect base from which to explore. Lovely wind swept bracing walk along Llansteffan beach, Laugharne well worth a visit for the day and also went a little further afield to meet up with friends at Poppit sands - good lunch at the Ferry Inn. Thank you so much Clare and Dave for such a warm welcome - would love to return during the summer months.”

Adel, Richard and Ivor, Phil and Ryan, Dec/Jan 2015

“Beautiful cottage ! so well equipped and great attention to detail with some lovely added touches. A lovely warm welcome when we arrived and throughout. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, will definitely return and recommend to friends and family. Many thanks”

Lewis family, Dec 2015

“Thank you ever so much for providing a wonderful place to hunker down and enjoy as weather turned a bit stormy, but we didn't mind, this is such a well equipped, comfortable and peaceful cottage with beautiful surroundings and friendly hosts. We can tell you put a lot of effort and caring thoughts into making this a place where your guests can truly feel at home”

Violet and family, USA, Nov 2015

“Thank you ever so much for a relaxing week in your beautiful cottage. outstanding surroundings with plenty to do, will be recommending this place to many friends !”

Gareth, Gemma and Poppy, Oct 2015

“We had a great time, the property is in a quiet location with extensive landscaped gardens, although only a few minutes drive from Camarthen and Llanstaffen beach. Accessibility is excellent, no problem for wheelchair/Rollator/Zimmer users.
The facilities are first class, well equipped kitchen (with dishwasher!)
You will be warmly welcomed by the Vickeridge family, and we had a couple of bottles of wine, some Welsh cakes and milk thrown in as well on arrival.
Recommended?...definitely.

Dave, Liz, John, Stephen”

Feedback - Sep 2015

“A really luxurious, peaceful, quiet, cosy cottage, with some special places to visit nearby. We were made to feel so welcome, especially with an 18 month old baby who was in his element with the sensory garden, orchard, 2 doggies and a huge box of sea shells to keep him busy! We had such a special family holiday and would love to come back very soon!”

Feedback - Sep 2015

“the cottage was perfect, peaceful and fully met our expectations, the scent from the flowers in the evening was wonderful, with the beach only 10 minutes drive and Carmarthen with all its shops not far away, it was idyllic. The owners were very helpful and friendly and genuinely cared about having everything just right.”

Feedback - Aug 2015

“I thought the cottage was lovely and in s lovely location. I would definitely recommend it, and will hopefully be visiting again soon!”

Feedback - Aug 2015

“This cottage is by far the best cottage we have ever stayed in. The design and high level of comfort made if feel like home from home. The Vickridge family made us feel very welcome and were a great source of help with advice on where to visit, particularly for the evening meals, we would recommend a visit to Rhosilli Bay, a beautiful area with superb views and a fantastic beach. The beach at Tenby is also another safe family friendly beach. The weather was not particularly good for our week but the stay was still wonderful. Thank you very much”

Sylvia, Leigh, Sophie, and Lily, July 2015

“We've had a wonderful and relaxing week at this lovely house, made so welcome by the family and dogs alike. The house is beautiful and catered very well for are varied needs as a family. Wonderful gardens and location. A big thank you for all the goodies”

Iain, Sue, Alfred and Pat, July 2015

“Great location, great cottage, very comfortable and the welcome food was useful for us townies used to a shop on every corner ! Warm welcome too, including the dogs. As gardeners we also enjoyed the gardens. Thanks again for your hospitality”

Richard, Carole, Ros, and Sean, July 2015.

“A very warm welcome from a lovely local family. A pretty stunning holiday letting with added personal touch. Great information provided for those rainy days. A 5 star rating and another visit in the foreseeable future”

Tony, Jackie, Tim, Dallas and Corbyn, July 2015

“A lovely place to stay, quite and relaxing and lots of walks.”

Feedback - Jul 2015

“We had a great week here, in this lovely, beautifully decorated and well equipped cottage and idyllic setting. Thank you for your helpful tips about exploring the local area and also, for making two children very happy with kids bikes, trucks and gigantic boxes of shells”

Tom, Sarah, Natasha & William, London, May 2015

“Delightful cottage, tastefully and comfortably furnished with all the equipment and accessories one could possibly need. The children loved the toys and facilities provided specially for them.”

Feedback - May 2015

“Thank you all for providing such a lovely, uplifting and nurturing environment for our family stay with our daughter, son-in-law and small grandchildren. The beautiful house and garden were a delight to all generations and very well equipped, we had lots of fun exploring the local area and your warm welcome was second to none.”

Shelagh and Peter, Cheshire, May 2015

“A big thankyou to the Vickridges for a wonderful week in Carmarthenshire. Bwthyn Creigiau was like home from home. We were made to feel very welcome throughout our stay and enjoyed the company of the Vickridges family, including Monty & Holly ! We could not have wished for a nicer cottage in delightful surroundings with easy access to beautiful beaches and places of interest. The recommendations from Clare, David, Maggie & Don were invaluable and catered to our needs. We enjoyed the stay very much and look forward to our next visit”

Mathew, Kathryn, Grace, John, & George - Twickenham, April 2015

“Lovely relaxing stay, everything has been very well planned and is extremely comfortable. Will tell all our friends ! Also thanks for all the extra touches - very kind”

Richard & Susan - Bristol, Feb 2015

“I was invited to visit and assess the stay in terms of accessibility. Undoubtedly a 5 star place with the most amazing atmosphere, spectacular views and wonderful hospitality from one of the loveliest families I've ever met. A real treat”

Emily - Chester, Feb 2015

“Thank you for making us feel so welcomed, the house is very relaxing and the setting is idyllic. The house is very well equipped and warm (which made my wife very happy). We have enjoyed walking on the beautiful coastal paths and eating out in the magnificent scenery that surrounds this rural setting”

Ralph & Rachel - Bristol Feb 2015